Jump to main content


Changes Announced For Ireland Women’s Sevens Pool

Changes Announced For Ireland Women’s Sevens Pool

In a change to the originally published pools for the Women’s Sevens European Championship in Moscow, Ireland have now been drawn in Pool C with the Netherlands, Italy and Switzerland.

The IRB have confirmed a change to the pool structures from those published earlier in the week.

Ireland need a top five finish in this tournament in order to qualify for the IRB Rugby World Cup Sevens tournament which will be be held in 2013, also in Moscow.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Jon Skurr’s side will open their campaign on Saturday moning (June 30) with a game against Italy who are ranked sixth going into the European Championship.

Ireland’s second game of the day will see them face the Netherlands, who are the third-ranked team in the event, and the girls in green will play their final game of the day later that evening against Switzerland.

2012 WOMEN’S SEVEN EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP POOLS (Moscow, Russia, June 30-July 1):

Pool A:
England, Portugal, Germany, Croatia

Pool B:
Spain, Ukraine, Sweden, Scotland

Pool C:
Netherlands, Italy, Switzerland, IRELAND

Pool D:
France, Russia, Moldova, Wales

Related Links –

Irish Rugby TV: Highlights from Ireland’s unbeaten run at the Sevens qualifier in Ghent

Ireland Women Dominate European Qualifier