Jump to main content


Mick O’Driscoll To Captain Barbarians Team

Mick O’Driscoll To Captain Barbarians Team

Munster and Ireland lock Mick O’Driscoll has been chosen to captain the Barbarians in Tuesday’s encounter with an Ireland XV at Kingsholm (kick-off 7.45pm).

The honour for Mick O’Driscoll, who has captained Munster on a number of occasions, comes at the end of a season in which he confirmed his retirement from rugby.

The 33-year-old lock will be making his first ever appearance for the Barbarians, with Ulster prop John Afoa and Leinster’s Isa Nacewa also selected in a strong matchday squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are seven of O’Driscoll’s Munster team-mates in the Ireland starting line-up for the game, and two more on the replacements bench.

Nacewa’s former provincial colleague Felipe Contepomi will wear the Baa Baas’ number 10 jersey, opposing Ronan O’Gara who has enjoyed many a duel with the Argentinian international over the years.

Gloucester’s own Mike Tindall and Rory Lawson will also start in the Barbarians’ back-line, with Cedric Heymans and Damien Traille sure to add some French flair to proceedings.

Afoa will be joined by Duncan Jones and Benoit August in a powerful front row, while Italy’s Cornelius van Zyl is set to pack down alongside O’Driscoll in the second row.

Georgian powerhouse Mamuka Gorgodze has been added to the back row along with fellow internationals Francois Louw and Raphael Lakafia.

In all, Barbarians coaches John Kirwan and Grant Doorey have retained only four players from Sunday’s 57-26 loss to England at Twickenham – they are Paul Sackey, Tindall, Lawson and All Black Afoa.

Tuesday’s non-cap clash is not being televised by the Barbarians and updates direct from Kingsholm will be available on our O2 MatchDay Live service on www.irishrugby.ie/live.

Tickets for the match are available to purchase here.

BARBARIANS Team & Replacements (v Ireland XV, 2012 Summer Tour, Kingsholm, Gloucester, Tuesday, May 29, kick-off 7.45pm):

15. Cedric Heymans (France)
14. Paul Sackey (England)
13. Mike Tindall (England)
12. Damien Traille (France)
11. Sailosi Tagicakibau (Samoa)
10. Felipe Contepomi (Argentina)
9. Rory Lawson (Scotland)
1. Duncan Jones (Wales)
2. Benoit August (France)
3. John Afoa (New Zealand)
4. Mick O’Driscoll (Ireland) (capt)
5. Cornelius van Zyl (Italy)
6. Mamuka Gorgodze (Georgia)
7. Francois Louw (South Africa)
8. Raphael Lakafia (France)


16. Aled de Malmanche (New Zealand)
17. Neemia Tialata (New Zealand)
18. Pelu Taele (Samoa)
19. Akapusi Qera (Fiji)
20. Richie Rees (Wales)
21. Stephen Donald (New Zealand)
22. Isa Nacewa (Fiji)