Jump to main content


Winning Start For Women’s Sevens Squad

Winning Start For Women’s Sevens Squad

The Women’s Sevens squad got off to a winning start on their road to qualification for the 2013 World Cup Sevens. Playing under the name ‘Green Lightning’ at the Kinsale Sevens, they won the Elite Ladies tournament.

The prestigious Kinsale Sevens is one of three warm-up festivals – Amsterdam and Bournemouth are up next – that the squad will participate in ahead of the first FIRA qualifying tournament in Ghent in June.

The 13-strong squad featured some notable names from the first team such as Ireland’s most-capped player Lynne Cantwell and strong-running number 8 Joy Neville.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There were also some of the newer faces that made a mark in the recent Women’s Six Nations Championship such as Sophie Spence.

Playing under the name ‘Green Lightning’ for the warm-up games, the squad got off to a winning start in Kinsale as they went through Saturday and Sunday undefeated.

Saturday saw them notch up big wins over Team Boom, Here For The Beer and the Shamrock Warriors before defeating the Wooden Spoons by 17-0.

On Sunday they again beat the Shamrock Warriors and then the Nifty Navan Nutters before facing the Wooden Spoons in the final. They won that game on a 19-0 scoreline to lift the trophy.

In addition to the 13-strong squad that featured for Green Lightning, a number of other members of the 21-woman training squad featured for the Shamrock Warriors, the Wooden Spoons and for the Wild Geese ensuring game-time and experience for as many players as possible.

Ireland Women’s team captain Fiona Coghlan featured for the Wooden Spoons while Aine Ni Cathain and Tammy Breen were in the Wild Geese ranks.

The Shamrock Warriors featured Jacqueline Mulligan, Laura Guest, Laura O’Mahony, Maedbh Westwood, Mollie O’Donnell and Nicki Caughey.

Green Lightning Squad (2012 Kinsale Sevens Elite Ladies Champions):

Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Ashling Hutchins (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Claire Keohane (Bristol/Exiles)
Jeannette Feighery (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jennifer Murphy (Richmond/Exiles)
Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (Richmond/Exiles)
Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Sophie Spence (Howden Park Sharks/Ulster)
Rachael Potter (Saracens/Exiles)

Related Links –

IRFU Announce Women’s Sevens Structures