Jump to main content


Ulster Bank League: Results Round-Up

Ulster Bank League: Results Round-Up

There was huge drama in all four divisions of the Ulster Bank League on Saturday afternoon, with St. Mary’s College and UL Bohemians claiming divisional titles and Highfield and Ards winning their respective play-offs in the lower divisions.



Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

BLACKROCK COLLEGE 27 GARRYOWEN 33, Stradbrook (Blackrock College finish bottom and are relegated to Division 1B for next season)
Scorers: Blackrock College: Tries: Peter McCague, Marcus Walsh, Des Dillon, Andrew Letham, Ian Byrne; Con: Darragh Fitzpatrick
Garryowen: Tries: Adam O’Loughlin, Kieran O’Gorman, Paul Neville, Alan Gaughan; Cons: Fergal Lawlor 2; Pens: Fergal Lawlor 3

HT: Blackrock College 10 Garryowen 14

CORK CONSTITUTION 22 OLD BELVEDERE 25, Temple Hill (Old Belvedere finish second-from-bottom and will meet Belfast Harlequins in a relegation/promotion play-off to decide who plays in Division 1A next season)
Scorers: Cork Constitution: Tries: Cathal Quinn, Brian O’Hara, Johnny Holland; Cons: Gerry Hurley 2; Pen: Gerry Hurley
Old Belvedere: Tries: David Mongan, Daniel Riordan, Leo Auva’a; Cons: Gearoid McDonald 2; Pens: Gearoid McDonald 2

HT: Cork Constitution 5 Old Belvedere 15

DOLPHIN 3 SHANNON 28, Musgrave Park
Scorers: Dolphin: Pen: Barry Keeshan
Shannon: Tries: David Quinlan, John Clogan, Alan Bennie; Cons: Tadhg Bennett, Mossie Lawler; Pen: Tadhg Bennett; Drops: Tadhg Bennett 2

HT: Dolphin 0 Shannon 16

LANSDOWNE 27 CLONTARF 28, Aviva Stadium main pitch
Scorers: Lansdowne: Tries: Craig Ronaldson 2, Matt Healy, Sean Carey; Cons: Craig Ronaldson 2; Drop: Craig Ronaldson
Clontarf: Tries: Timmy McCoy, Richie Lane, Aaron Dundon; Cons: Richie Lane 2; Pens: Richie Lane 2, Noel Reid

HT: Lansdowne 20 Clontarf 10

ST. MARY’S COLLEGE 23 YOUNG MUNSTER 19, Templeville Road (St. Mary’s College are the Ulster Bank League champions)
Scorers: St. Mary’s College: Tries: Mark Sexton 2; Cons: Gavin Dunne 2; Pens: Gavin Dunne 3
Young Munster: Try: Ger Slattery; Con: Willie Staunton; Pens: Willie Staunton 4

HT: St. Mary’s College 3 Young Munster 13


BALLYMENA 41 UCC 6, Eaton Park (UCC finish bottom of the Division 1B table and are relegated to Division 2A)
Scorers: Ballymena: Tries: Penalty try, Stephen Mulholland, Alasdair Frazer, Ross Hackney, Caolann Fitzpatrick, Martin Irwin, Ian Vance; Cons: Luke Marshall 3
UCC: Pens: Luke Duffy 2

HT: Ballymena 17 UCC 6

BALLYNAHINCH 29 GALWEGIANS 20, Ballymacarn Park (Galwegians finish second-from-bottom and are relegated to Division 2A)
Scorers: Ballynahinch: Tries: Fergal Lynch, James Simpson, Aaron Ferris, Ian Whitten; Cons: Harry McAleese 3; Pen: Harry McAleese
Galwegians: Tries: Eoin McKeon, Brian Murphy; Cons: Tadhg Leader 2; Pens: Tadhg Leader 2

HT: Ballynahinch 26 Galwegians 10

BRUFF 20 BUCCANEERS 18, Kilballyowen Park
Scorers: Bruff: Tries: John Shine, Mark Cosgrave, Brian Cahill; Con: Brian Cahill; Pen: Brian Cahill
Buccaneers: Tries: Paul Harte 2; Con: Jack Carty; Pens: Jack Carty 2

HT: Bruff 7 Buccaneers 15

UL BOHEMIANS 34 BELFAST HARLEQUINS 14, Annacotty (UL Bohemians finish top of Division 1B and win automatic promotion to Division 1A for next season; Belfast Harlequins are second and will face Old Belvedere in a Division 1A relegation/promotion play-off)
Scorers: UL Bohemians: Tries: Rory Whyte, Darren Moroney, Sean Rennison, Ben Martin; Cons: Ben Martin 4; Pens: Ben Martin 2
Belfast Harlequins: Tries: Penalty try, Michael Allen; Cons: Stuart Olding 2

HT: UL Bohemians 21 Belfast Harlequins 14

UCD 36 DUNGANNON 23, Belfield
Scorers: UCD: Tries: Sam Coghlan Murray 2, Richie Bent, Tom Fletcher, Alan O’Connor; Cons: James Thornton 4; Pen: James Thornton
Dungannon: Tries: Timmy Smith, Mark Jenkinson; Cons: Michael Lawton 2; Pens: Michael Lawton 2, Peter Nelson

HT: UCD 22 Dungannon 6


Thomond 13 Highfield 20, Liam Fitzgerald Park (Highfield will play in Ulster Bank League Division 2A next season; Thomond are relegated to Division 2B)


Ards 30 Monivea 17, Hamilton Park (Ards will play in Ulster Bank League Division 2B next season; Monivea remain in the Connacht Junior League)