Jump to main content


Four Changes For Leinster

Four Changes For Leinster

The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Saturday’s Heineken Cup quarter-final at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 5.45pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen captains the Leinster team for the visit of Cardiff. He is named in a pack which shows four changes to the side that defeated Munster 18-9 in last weekend’s league derby.

Cullen partners Heineken Cup debutant Brad Thorn in the second row, with Sean O’Brien, who will make his 25th tournament appearance, coming into the back row alongside fellow Ireland internationals Kevin McLaughlin and Jamie Heaslip.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The province’s back-line is unchanged with Eoin Reddan linking up with half-back partner Jonathan Sexton, who has amassed 300 points in 27 European appearances to date.

Fellow Ireland international Gordon D’Arcy forms the centre partnership with Brian O’Driscoll for the 68th time in Leinster colours, while Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney and Isa Nacewa complete the back-three.

South African prop Heinke van der Merwe is named alongside five Ireland internationals on the bench, including the likes of Sean Cronin, Shane Jennings and Fergus McFadden.

Ticket sales for Saturday’s game are fast approaching the 50,000 mark. Tickets are still available online here, and from Spar (Donnybrook) and the Ticketmaster vans around the ground from 3pm on Saturday, if not sold out prior.

LEINSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Rob Kearney; Isa Nacewa, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Brad Thorn, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Heinke van der Merwe, Nathan White, Devin Toner, Shane Jennings, Isaac Boss, Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden.