Jump to main content


Ireland Schools Team Unchanged For European Final

Ireland Schools Team Unchanged For European Final

The Ireland Under-18 Schools team to play England in the final of the FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship in Madrid on Saturday (kick-off 4.45pm local time/3.45pm Irish time) has been named.

The Ireland starting line-up is unchanged from the team that beat France 22-20 in a thrilling semi-final on Tuesday. Terry McMaster’s side defeated Portugal 34-24 in the opening round before accounting for a strong French side.

Their opponents in the final, England, overcame Georgia and then Wales to book their place in the decider.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

It is a repeat of last year’s final which Ireland won 17-8 in Tarbes, France, when they were captained by current Ireland Under-20 and Leinster ‘A’ scrum half Luke McGrath.

Flanker Daniel Leavy, who is the Irish Schools captain for this year’s tournament, is the only surviving member from the 2011 title-winning squad.

Saturday’s game is scheduled to be streamed live on the Spanish Rugby Union website www.ferugby.com, or you can get updates on the tournament website here.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Team & Replacements (v England Under-18s, FIRA/AER U-18 European Championship Final, Ciudad Universitaria, Madrid, Saturday, April 7, kick-off 4.45pm local time/3.45pm Irish time):

15 – William Dardis (Terenure College/Leinster)
14 – David Johnston (Rockwell College/Munster)
13 – Rory O’Loughlin (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
12 – Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)
11 – Gregory O’Shea (Crescent College/Munster)
10 – Conor McKeon (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
9 – Bobby Holland (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
1 – Charlie Slowey (CBC Cork/Munster)
2 – Max Abbott (PBC Cork/Munster)
3 – Eoghan McKeever (CBC Monkstown/Leinster)
4 – Ross Molony (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
5 – Sean O’Brien (CC Roscrea/Connacht)
6 – Rory Maloney (CC Roscrea/Leinster)
7 – Daniel Leavy (St. Michael’s College/Leinster) (capt)
8 – Peadar Timmins (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)


16 – Dylan Donnellan (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
17 – Aidan Slattery (PBC Cork/Munster)
18 – Shane Delahunt (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
19 – Shane Boyle (Sligo GS/Connacht)
20 – Darragh Moloney (CBC Cork/Munster)
21 – Josh Fullerton (CCB/Ulster)
22 – Gearoid Lyons (Crescent College/Munster)
23 – Stephen O’Neill (Terenure College/Leinster)
24 – Cian Kelleher (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
25 – Cormac O’Donnell (St. Munchin’s College/Munster)
26 – Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College/Leinster)

Ireland U-18 Schools Management

Terry McMaster – Head Coach
Paul Barr – Assistant Coach
Kenny Hooks – Assistant Coach
John McKinney – Team Manager
Chris Shield – Fitness Coach
Ozzie Fogarty – Team Doctor
David Lyons – Team Physio
Vinny Hammond – Team Analyst
Nicola Lyons – Team Co-ordinator
John Moran – Team Assistant

Ireland’s FIRA/AER U-18 European Championship Fixtures:

Friday, March 30
Ireland 34 Portugal 24

Tuesday, April 3
Ireland 22 France 20

Saturday, April 7
Final: Ireland v England, 4.45pm local time/3.45pm Irish time

* All matches will be played at Ciudad Universitaria in Madrid