Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Announced For FIRA/AER Championship

Ireland U-18 Schools Squad Announced For FIRA/AER Championship

The Ireland Under-18 Schools squad, sponsored by PwC, has been named for the upcoming Under-18 European Championship in Spain from March 29 to April 8.

The Ireland Under-18 Schools squad will warm up for their defence of the FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship title with a pre tournament friendly against Scotland at Coolmine RFC this Sunday (kick-off 12pm).

This year’s Justin Bridou-sponsored European Championship takes place in Spain with Ireland drawn in the Elite group alongside England, Wales, France, Scotland, Italy, Georgia and Portugal.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland won the tournament in France last year for the first time having previously reached two finals with the U-18 Clubs team.

The U-18 Schools side, who beat a fancied England team 17-8 to take the title in 2011, will play Portugal in Ciudad Universitaria in Madrid in their opening game.

The winners of that fixture will progress to a semi-final where they will face either France or Scotland.

Terry McMaster will coach the 26-man Ireland squad with the assistance of Paul Barr and Kenny Hooks.

IRELAND UNDER-18 SCHOOLS Squad (FIRA/AER Under-18 European Championship, Madrid, March 29-April 8):

Max Abbott (PBC Cork/Munster)
Benjamin Alexander (RBAI/Ulster)
Shane Boyle (Sligo GS/Connacht)
Harrison Brewer (Terenure College/Leinster)
William Dardis (Terenure College/Leinster)
Shane Delahunt (Kilkenny College/Leinster)
Dylan Donnellan (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)
Josh Fullerton (CCB/Ulster)
Bobby Holland (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
David Johnston (Rockwell College/Munster)
Cian Kelleher (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Daniel Leavy (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Gearoid Lyons (Crescent College/Munster)
Rory Maloney (CC Roscrea/Connacht)
Eoghan McKeever (CBC Monkstown/Leinster)
Conor McKeon (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
Saba Meunargia (Marist College/Connacht)
Ross Molony (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Sean O’Brien (CC Roscrea/Connacht)
Cormac O’Donnell (St. Munchin’s/Munster)
Ruairi O’Farrell (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College/Leinster)
Gregory O’Shea (Crescent College/Munster)
Rory O’Loughlin (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Charlie Slowey (CBC Cork/Munster)
Peadar Timmins (Clongowes Wood College/Leinster)

Ireland U-18 Schools Management

Terry McMaster – Head Coach
Paul Barr – Assistant Coach
Kenny Hooks – Assistant Coach
John McKinney – Team Manager
Chris Shield – Fitness Coach
Ozzie Fogarty – Team Doctor
David Lyons – Team Physio
Vinny Hammond – Team Analyst
Nicola Lyons – Team Co-ordinator
John Moran – Team Assistant