Jump to main content


Barclay Drafted Into Ireland Club Side

Barclay Drafted Into Ireland Club Side

Clontarf’s Ben Barclay has earned a late call-up to the Ireland Club team for Friday’s clash with England Counties at Preston Grasshoppers RFC (kick-off 7.30pm). Rob Sweeney is injured and unable to play, so Barclay takes over at loosehead prop.

Ben Barclay’s late inclusion means there are three changes to the side that defeated the Scotland Club selection last week in the Ulster Bank Club International to retain the Dalriada Cup.

Barclay, a former Ireland Under-20 international, will be making his debut at this level. The 24-year-old has been in consistently good form for Clontarf during the 2011/12 campaign.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The other two changes made by the Irish management are in the back row, with captain Simon Crawford and Hugh Hogan both ruled out because of injury.

Young Munster’s Liam Og Murphy comes in for Crawford at blindside flanker, while Clontarf’s Frank Cogan will don the number 8 jersey in place of Hogan.

The captain’s armband passes to Cork Constitution scrum half Gerry Hurley, with Dolphin prop Christy Condon named as vice-captain.

The Ireland Club team won their corresponding encounter with England Counties last year. David Mongan and Crawford scored the tries which helped the Irish record a 16-8 victory.

IRELAND CLUB Team & Replacements (v England Counties, Preston Grasshoppers RFC, Friday, March 16, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – Rodger McBurney (Ballymena)
14 – Cian Aherne (Lansdowne)
13 – Killian Lett (Clontarf)
12 – Mike Kelliher (Young Munster)
11 – Cathal Quinn (Cork Constitution)
10 – Craig Ronaldson (Lansdowne)
9 – Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution) (capt)
1 – Ben Barclay (Clontarf)
2 – Ger Slattery (Young Munster)
3 – Christy Condon (Dolphin)
4 – Philip Donnellan (Cork Constitution)
5 – Fergal Walsh (Shannon)
6 – Liam Og Murphy (Young Munster)
7 – Barry O’Mahony (Clontarf)
8 – Frank Cogan (Clontarf)


16 – Hugh McGrath (Young Munster)
17 – Risteard Byrne (UCD)
18 – Damian Hall (St. Mary’s College)
19 – Neville Melbourne (Young Munster)
20 – Brian Slater (UCC)
21 – Barry Keeshan (Dolphin)
22 – James Thompson (Ballynahinch)

Team Management –

Conor Twomey – Head Coach
Niall Cowhey – Team Manager
David Murphy – Assistant Coach
Ailbe McCormack – Team Physio
Alan Hickey – Team Assistant
Paul Heasley – Fitness Coach
Will Duggan – Team Doctor

Related Links –

Ireland Club Team Retain Dalriada Cup

Twomey: Great Character Shown By The Players

O’Mahony Savours Ireland Club Success