Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Team To Play Scotland

Ireland Women’s Team To Play Scotland

The Ireland Women’s team to play Scotland Women at Ashbourne RFC on Friday night (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

There is one change to the starting line-up with Paula Fitzpatrick making her first start of the Six Nations Championship in the front row between captain Fiona Coghlan and Ailis Egan.

Gillian Bourke, one of the try scorers in last weekend’s record-breaking 36-0 victory over Wales, moves to the replacements bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The experienced Shannon Houston has also been recalled to the squad and is named as one of the reserve backs.

Ireland are third in the Six Nations table following a five-try win over Italy, a single point loss to France and last Saturday’s six-try demolition of the Welsh.

Ireland Women’s head coach Philip Doyle said: “The win over Wales was fantastic and we enjoyed it, but next day the focus switched to Scotland.

“We have put ourselves in a good position and the girls are playing some great rugby. This week has been about fine-tuning things and again the commitment in training has been excellent.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S Team & Replacements (v Scotland Women, Women’s RBS 6 Nations, Ashbourne RFC, County Meath, Friday, March 9, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
14 – Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians/Munster)
13 – Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemians/Munster)
12 – Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)
11 – Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Highfield/Connacht)
10 – Lynne Cantwell (Exile)
9 – Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
1 – Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt)
2 – Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
3 – Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
4 – Sophie Spence (Exile)
5 – Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
6 – Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16 – Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
17 – Ruth O’Reilly (Galwegians/Connacht)
18 – Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)
19 – Heather O’Brien (Highfield/Munster)
20 – Larissa Muldoon (Exile/UWIC/Ulster)
21 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
22 – Jennifer Murphy (Exile)

Ireland Women’s 2012 Fixtures/Results:

Saturday, February 11 – France Women 8 Ireland Women 7, Stade du Hameau, Pau
Friday, February 24 – Ireland Women 40 Italy Women 10, Ashbourne RFC
Saturday, March 3 – Ireland Women 36 v Wales Women 0, Ashbourne RFC
Friday, March 9 – Ireland Women v Scotland Women, Ashbourne RFC, 7.30pm
Saturday, March 17 – England Women v Ireland Women, Esher RFC, 2pm