Jump to main content


Ballymena And Grosvenor Earn Club Excellence Awards

Ballymena And Grosvenor Earn Club Excellence Awards

Two more clubs have earned an IRFU Club Excellence award this season. Ballymena and Grosvenor received their awards recently to highlight their committment to ‘best practice’ operating standards at both clubs.

Representatives from Ballymena RFC and Grosvenor RFC attended the pre-match lunch for the Ireland v Italy game at the Aviva Stadium and were presented with their awards by IRFU President John Hussey.

Ballymena Club ExcellenceBallymena were represented by club President Dr. Syd Millar and Hon. Sec and Club Excellence project leader Guy McCullough.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ballymena provides opportunities for players from mini to adult level with the first team currently pushing for promotion from Division 1B of the Ulster Bank League.

The proactive nature of the club is reflected in the fact that they work tirelessly with their local community to promote rugby for all and they recently launched the Ballymena Bears, a section specifically for children with learning difficulties and special needs.

Grosvenor were represented by club President Eddie Briggs and Hon. Sec. Phil Hill. Grosvenor RFC has gone from strength to strength over the last number of years and can now proudly boast that it regularly turns out four adult teams every week to compete in various leagues and cups within the Ulster Branch.

The club’s approach to the Club Excellence Award has been a group effort with a variety of people being involved in compiling the various submissions under the guidance of Eddie Briggs.

The Club Excellence Award is a club accreditation scheme developed by the Irish Rugby Football Union which aims to promote best practice across a number of key areas. The scheme is open to all rugby clubs who are affiliated to the IRFU.

The project ran last season with a pilot scheme which saw eight clubs given an IRFU Club Excellence award – Ballina RFC, CIYMS RFC, Clondalkin RFC, Galway Corinthians RFC, Midleton RFC, Randalstown RFC, Seapoint RFC and Suttonians RFC.

Related LInks –

IRFU Club Excellence Award