Jump to main content



Changes To Ireland And O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Squads

Changes To Ireland And O2 Ireland Wolfhounds Squads

There have been several enforced changes to the Ireland senior and O2 Ireland Wolfhounds squads, following the weekend’s action in the Heineken Cup and British & Irish Cup.

Paddy McAllister sustained a knee injury while playing for Ulster Ravens in the British & Irish Cup and has been replaced in the senior squad by Leinster loosehead prop Jack McGrath.

Munster winger Simon Zebo will move up to play for the Wolfhounds as Luke Fitzgerald has failed to recover sufficiently from injury to either be considered for the game against the England Saxons or for the Ireland training camp.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Meanwhile, Ulster winger Craig Gilroy has been called into the senior squad to replace Zebo.

Andrew Conway, who was also due to train with the senior squad in Limerick as one of the six additional players, has had to pull out due to injury, with his Leinster team-mate Fionn Carr replacing him in the senior squad.

IRELAND Training Squad (2012 RBS 6 Nations):

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

Additional Players –

Fionn Carr (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster) *
Jacl McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) *
Ian Nagle (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht) *

O2 IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Squad (v England Saxons):

Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster) *
Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)
David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
Ronan Loughney (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster) *
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Kevin McLaughlin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)
Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
Eoin O’Malley (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Mike Sherry (Garryowen/Munster) *
Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster) *
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)
Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht) *
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) *

Not considered due to injury: Brian O’Driscoll, David Wallace, Darren Cave, Felix Jones, Jerry Flannery, Eoin Griffin *, Denis Leamy, Niall Ronan.

* Denotes uncapped player