Jump to main content


Leinster And Kyle Honoured At RTE Sports Awards

Leinster And Kyle Honoured At RTE Sports Awards

Leinster were last night named Team Of The Year at the annual RTE Sports Awards. There was also a special presnetation made to Ulster, Ireland and Lions legend Jack Kyle.

Celebrating the collaborative achievements of Irish athletes, the RTÉ Sports Team of the Year award was presented to the Leinster rugby squad, winners of the Heineken Cup in 2011.

Leinster win the RTE Sports Team Of The Year Award

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Leinster regained their European crown after a thrilling final against Northampton Saints which saw them trailing 22-6 at half-time before turning the match around with a remarkable performance, winning 33-22.

2011 also saw Leinster ranked number 1 in the ERC European Rankings and reach a league decider against Munster.

Leinster captain Leo Cullen was joined by Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Horgan and Isa Nacewa to accept the award.

As well as acknowledging this year’s sporting achievements, the RTÉ Sports Awards also paid tribute to one of Ireland’s sporting legends.

The ceremony saw Brian O’Driscoll present one of Ireland’s greatest ever rugby players Jack Kyle, with the RTÉ/Irish Sports Council Hall of Fame award.

Belfast native Kyle made his official Ireland debut against France in 1947 and went on to make 46 appearances, playing a pivotal role in the Irish side at the time.

He helped Ireland to their first ever Grand Slam win in 1948, two Triple Crowns (1948 and 1949) and a further Five Nations Championship in 1951.

Click here to watch the televised broadcast of the awards ceremony.