Jump to main content


Cullen Back To Lead Leinster Against Cardiff

Cullen Back To Lead Leinster Against Cardiff

The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at the RDS (kick-off 8.05pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen leads a side which shows a number of changes to the starting line-up for the 30-20 win over Benetton Treviso last weekend.

Cullen partners Steven Sykes in the second row with Sean O’Brien joining fellow Ireland internationals Shane Jennings and Rhys Ruddock in the back row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Eoin O’Malley continues at centre alongside Fergus McFadden who had a 100% kicking return in his 15-point haul in Italy.

David Kearney also takes his place alongside Fionn Carr – a try scorer against Benetton Treviso – and the returning Isa Nacewa.

Jonathan Sexton has been named on a strong replacements bench alongside the likes of fellow Ireland internationals Sean Cronin, Rob Kearney and Mike Ross.

Over 16,000 tickets have now been sold for Friday’s game and tickets are still available to purchase online here and from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) and Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

The Ticketmaster van (Simmonscourt Road) and ticket office (located inside the Anglesea Gate) will also be selling tickets at the RDS from 4pm on Friday.

LEINSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Isa Nacewa; David Kearney, Eoin O’Malley, Fergus McFadden, Fionn Carr; Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Nathan White, Leo Cullen (capt), Steven Sykes, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Heinke van der Merwe, Mike Ross, Damian Browne, Leo Auva’a, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton, Rob Kearney.