Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Changes Made To France Side

Changes Made To France Side

France head coach Marc Lièvremont has selected a much-changed team for Saturday’s GUINNESS Summer Series clash with Ireland at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 5pm).

There are 13 changes in personnel to the starting line-up from last weekend’s 19-12 win over Ireland in Bordeaux. Winger Alexis Palisson and hooker Dimitri Szarzewski are the only survivors.

Experienced centre Aurélien Rougerie is back for his first match since fracturing his left ankle when playing for Clermont Auvergne in the Top 14 Championship in May.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Rougerie has been paired with Fabrice Estebanez at centre, with Palisson and Toulouse duo Cédric Heymans and Maxime Médard forming the back-three.

David Skrela and Morgan Parra, who were used as second half substitutes in the first game, have been chosen to start this time around.

In the forwards, hooker William Servat and prop Thomas Domingo remain sidelined with knee injuries, so the front row combination is comprised of Szarzewski, Jean-Baptiste Poux and Nicolas Mas.

Lionel Nallet will captain the side from the second row alongside Pascal Papé, and les Bleus’ starting back row includes Fulgence Ouedraogo, Louis Picamoles and Julien Bonnaire.

Vincent Clerc, France’s try scorer last Saturday night, and Dimitri Yachvili, who kicked the rest of their points, drop to the replacements bench.

This is France’s final warm-up fixture before the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand, and Marc Lièvremont will confirm his 30-man squad for the tournament on Sunday.

The Ireland teams for this week’s games against Connacht (Thursday) and France (Saturday) will be announced by Declan Kidney on Wednesday afternoon.

Meanwhile, RTÉ Two and BBC Two will have live TV coverage of this weekend’s Test match at the Aviva Stadium, and you can also follow the action here with our O2 MatchDay Live service.

FRANCE Team & Replacements (v Ireland, GUINNESS Summer Series, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, August 20, kick-off 5pm):

15 – Cédric Heymans (Toulouse)
14 – Maxime Médard (Toulouse)
13 – Aurélien Rougerie (Clermont Auvergne)
12 – Fabrice Estebanez (Racing Metro 92)
11 – Alexis Palisson (Toulon)
10 – David Skrela (Toulouse)
9 – Morgan Parra (Clermont Auvergne)
1 – Jean-Baptiste Poux (Toulouse)
2 – Dimitri Szarzewski (Stade Francais)
3 – Nicolas Mas (Perpignan)
4 – Pascal Papé (Stade Francais)
5 – Lionel Nallet (Racing Metro 92) (capt)
6 – Fulgence Ouedraogo (Montpellier)
7 – Julien Bonnaire (Clermont Auvergne)
8 – Louis Picamoles (Toulouse)


16 – Guilhem Guirado (Perpignan)
17 – Fabien Barcella (Biarritz Olympique)
18 – Julien Pierre (Clermont Auvergne)
19 – Raphaël Lakafia (Biarritz Olympique)
20 – Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz Olympique)
21 – Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier)
22 – Vincent Clerc (Toulouse)