Jump to main content



Head-To-Head: Scotland v Ireland

Head-To-Head: Scotland v Ireland

See below for a statistical preview of Sunday afternoon’s RBS 6 Nations match between Scotland and Ireland at Murrayfield (kick-off 3pm).

2011 RBS 6 NATIONS CHAMPIONSHIP: Sunday, February 27

SCOTLAND v IRELAND, Murrayfield, 3pm (live RTÉ Two/BBC Two)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

SCOTLAND: Chris Paterson (Edinburgh); Nikki Walker (Ospreys), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors); Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Mike Blair (Edinburgh); Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors) (capt), Kelly Brown (Saracens), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors).

Replacements: Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Nathan Hines (Leinster), Richie Vernon (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Simon Danielli (Ulster).

IRELAND: Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt), Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster); Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster), Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster); Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster), Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster), David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster), Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), Tom Court (Malone/Ulster), Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster), Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster), Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster), Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster).

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant Referees: Andrew Small (England), Pascal Gauzere (France)
Television Match Official: Graham Hughes (England)


Played – 124
Scotland Won – 63
Ireland Won – 55
Drawn – 5
Abandoned – 1

The five drawn matches were in 1893, 1896, 1900 (all 0-0), 1979 (11-11) and 1994 (6-6). The abandoned game was in 1885 at Ormeau in Belfast, when the pitch became waterlogged during a storm.

Scotland’s win in Dublin in 2010 brought to an end a run of eight successive Ireland wins in the Six Nations

Ireland v Scotland: IRFU Stats Vault

Biggest Wins:

Scotland: Points & Margin: 38-10, 1997 Five Nations

Ireland: Points: 44-22, 2000 Six Nations; Margin: 36-6, 2003 Six Nations

Individual Records In The Series:

Most Points In A Match: Scotland 18 (Chris Paterson 2007, Dan Parks 2010); Ireland 26 (David Humphreys 2003)

Most Tries In A Match: Scotland 4 (William Stewart 1913); Ireland 3 (Eugene Davy 1930, Seamus Byrne 1953, Brian O’Driscoll 2002)

Ireland v Scotland In The Six Nations:

2000: Ireland 44-22, Lansdowne Road; 2001: Scotland 32-10, Murrayfield; 2002: Ireland 43-22, Lansdowne Road; 2003: Ireland 36-6, Murrayfield; 2004: Ireland 37-16, Lansdowne Road; 2005: Ireland 40-13, Murrayfield; 2006: Ireland 15-9, Lansdowne Road; 2007: Ireland 19-18, Murrayfield; 2008: Ireland 34-13, Croke Park; 2009: Ireland 22-15, Murrayfield; 2010: Scotland 23-20, Croke Park

Scotland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2010 Six Nations:

Lost 18-9 v France home (Six Nations)
Lost 31-24 v Wales away (Six Nations)
Lost 16-12 v Italy away (Six Nations)
Drew 15-15 v England home (Six Nations)
Won 23-20 v Ireland away (Six Nations)
Won 24-16 v Argentina away (Summer Tour)
Won 13-9 v Argentina away (Summer Tour)
Lost 49-3 v New Zealand home (Autumn Series)
Won 21-17 v South Africa home (Autumn Series)
Won 19-16 v Samoa home (Autumn Series)
Lost 34-21 v France away (Six Nations)
Lost 24-6 v Wales home (Six Nations)

Ireland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2010 Six Nations:

Won 29-11 v Italy home (Six Nations)
Lost 33-10 v France away (Six Nations)
Won 20-16 v England away (Six Nations)
Won 27-12 v Wales home (Six Nations)
Lost 23-20 v Scotland home (Six Nations)
Lost 66-28 v New Zealand away (Summer Tour)
Lost 22-15 v Australia away (Summer Tour)
Lost 23-21 v South Africa home (Autumn Series)
Won 20-10 v Samoa home (Autumn Series)
Lost 38-18 v New Zealand home (Autumn Series)
Won 29-9 v Argentina home (Autumn Series)
Won 13-11 v Italy away (Six Nations)
Lost 25-22 v France home (Six Nations)

International Championship All-Time Records:

Points –
538 Jonny Wilkinson (England)
532 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
456 Stephen Jones (Wales)
406 Neil Jenkins (Wales)
372 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
288 Gavin Hastings (Scotland)
270 David Humphreys (Ireland)

Tries –
24 Ian Smith (Scotland)
23 Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
22 Shane Williams (Wales)
18 Cyril Lowe (England)
18 Rory Underwood (England)
18 Gareth Edwards (Wales)

Scotland – Most-Capped Players:

101 Chris Paterson
87 Scott Murray
82 Gregor Townsend
77 Jason White
75 Gordon Bulloch
71 Stuart Grimes
70 Kenny Logan
69 Nathan Hines
68 Mike Blair
66 Simon Taylor

Scotland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers:

752 Chris Paterson
667 Gavin Hastings
273 Andy Irvine
220 Kenny Logan
217 Dan Parks
210 Peter Dods

Scotland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers:

24 Ian Smith
24 Tony Stanger
22 Chris Paterson
17 Gavin Hastings
17 Gregor Townsend
17 Alan Tait
15 Ivan Tukalo

Ireland – Most-Capped Players:

109 Brian O’Driscoll
105 Ronan O’Gara
104 John Hayes
95 Peter Stringer
92 Malcolm O’Kelly
82 Girvan Dempsey
72 David Humphreys
72 Paul O’Connell
70 Kevin Maggs
69 Mike Gibson
69 Geordan Murphy
69 Donncha O’Callaghan
68 David Wallace

Ireland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers:

987 Ronan O’Gara
560 David Humphreys
308 Michael Kiernan
296 Eric Elwood
225 Brian O’Driscoll
217 Ollie Campbell

Ireland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers:

42 Brian O’Driscoll
29 Denis Hickie
21 Shane Horgan
19 Girvan Dempsey
18 Geordan Murphy
17 Brendan Mullin
16 Tommy Bowe
15 Kevin Maggs
15 Ronan O’Gara
15 Keith Wood

World Rugby All-Time Top Points Scorers:

1188 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
1187 Jonny Wilkinson (1120-England, 67-Lions)
1090 Neil Jenkins (1049-Wales, 41-Lions)
1010 Diego Dominguez (27-Argentina, 983-Italy)
987 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
967 Andrew Mehrtens (New Zealand)
923 Stephen Jones (870-Wales, 53-Lions)
911 Michael Lynagh (Australia)
893 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
878 Matt Burke (Australia)
752 Chris Paterson (Scotland)

World Rugby All-Time Top Try Scorers:

64 David Campese (Australia)
55 Shane Williams (53-Wales, 2-Lions)
50 Rory Underwood (49-England, 1-Lions)
49 Doug Howlett (New Zealand)
46 Christian Cullen (New Zealand)
46 Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand)
44 Jeff Wilson (New Zealand)
43 Brian O’Driscoll (42-Ireland, 1-Lions)
41 Gareth Thomas (40-Wales, 1-Lions)
40 Chris Latham (Australia)

(Note: Daisuke Ohata scored 69 tries for Japan, but not all against major international opposition)

The ‘100 Caps’ Club:

139 George Gregan (Australia)
119 Jason Leonard (114-England, 5-Lions)
118 Fabien Pelous (France)
115 Brian O’Driscoll (109-Ireland, 6-Lions)
111 Philippe Sella (France)
110 George Smith (Australia)
107 Ronan O’Gara (105-Ireland, 2-Lions)
106 John Hayes (104-Ireland, 2-Lions)
105 Victor Matfield (South Africa)
103 Gareth Thomas (100-Wales, 3-Lions)
103 Stephen Jones (97-Wales, 6-Lions)
102 Stephen Larkham (Australia)
102 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
102 John Smit (South Africa)
102 Martyn Williams (98-Wales, 4-Lions)
101 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
101 Alessandro Troncon (Italy)
101 David Campese (Australia)

– Official match data supplied by RBS 6 Nations