Jump to main content


Ulster Ravens Team Confirmed For Neath Tie

Ulster Ravens Team Confirmed For Neath Tie

The Ulster Ravens team for Friday’s British & Irish Cup Pool C encounter with Neath at Shaw’s Bridge (kick-off 7pm) has been named. Number 8 Thomas Anderson will captain the side.

The Ravens currently top Pool C but with the same points total as Moseley (five points), and the Bedford Blues a further point back. Both Moseley and Bedford have a game in hand on the Ulstermen.

The Ravens got their 2010/11 campaign off to a winning start back in October, securing a bonus point 32-12 win over Swansea at St. Helen’s, but they lost out to Bedford their Goldington Road venue last month.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With the Ravens’ home tie against Moseley postponed prior to Christmas due to the weather, the side, managed by Gary Longwell, will be looking to get their campaign back on track this Friday night when they take on Neath at Shaw’s Bridge.

A number of players who have recently lined out for the senior team will feature – Jamie Smith, Tommy Seymour, Luke Marshall and Craig Gilroy in the backs, and Andi Kyriacou, Jerry Cronin, Neil McComb, Ryan Caldwell and Thomas Anderson in the forwards.

The replacements bench also includes the Connacht-bound Niall O’Connor and Mark McCrea.

Shaw’s Bridge was designated as the venue for this game to ensure that the Ravenhill surface is in its best possible condition for Ulster’s Heineken Cup showdown with Biarritz Olympique on Saturday.

Supporters wishing to go along to the Ulster Ravens v Neath match will not be able to pay admission into the game on Friday night, but tickets are available to purchase from the Ulster Rugby Ticket Office or over the telephone (028 9049 3222, Option 2), priced at £12 for adults or £6 for children.

Admission is included as part of the Ulster Rugby 2010/11 Season Ticket, however season ticket holders will need to pick up a (free) ticket for admission, from the Ravenhill Ticket Office in advance of the game.

ULSTER RAVENS (v Neath): Jamie Smith; Tommy Seymour, Jonny Shiels, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ian Porter; Conor Carey, Andi Kyriacou, Jerry Cronin, Neil McComb, Ryan Caldwell, Ali Birch, David McGuigan, Thomas Anderson (capt).

Replacements: Niall Annett, Kyle McCall, Ian Henderson, Paul Pritchard, Michael Heaney, Niall O’Connor, Mark McCrea.