Jump to main content


Foley Selects Squad For Nottingham Trip

Foley Selects Squad For Nottingham Trip

Head coach Anthony Foley has named a 23-man squad for Munster’s British & Irish Cup Pool B match against Notthingham at Meadow Lane on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm).

The chosen squad includes six Academy players – David Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, David O’Callaghan, Kieran Essex, Conor Murray and Simon Zebo.

Sub-academy hooker Duncan Casey, who made his British & Irish Cup debut against Melrose last month, has also made the cut.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Friday night should see the return of promising lock Ian Nagle who missed out on appearing against Ulster on New Year’s Day due to illness.

The Nottingham pack is expected to include New Zealand lock Ali Williams who is on a one-month stint with the East Midlands Club.

Recovering from an Achilles tendon, Williams is looking for game-time before rejoining his club side, the Blues, back in Auckland.

Another squad member that may be familiar to some is Junior Sifa who lined out in the All-Ireland League with Cork club Midleton for two seasons before making the move to Nottingham.

Munster’s next British & Irish Cup home game takes place at Garryowen FC’s Dooradoyle grounds on Friday week (January 21). Esher are the visitors for a 7.30pm kick-off, and ticket details can be found here.

MUNSTER Squad (v Nottingham) – Backs (11): Duncan Williams, Conor Murray, Declan Cusack, Scott Deasy, Ivan Dineen, Barry Murphy, Tom Gleeson, Danny Barnes, Simon Zebo, Sean Scanlon, AN Other.

Forwards (12): David Kilycoyne, Peter Borlase, Stephen Archer, Duncan Casey, Sean Henry, David O’Callaghan, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Kieran Essex, Paddy Butler.