Jump to main content



Provincial Cup Winners Enter All-Ireland Race

Provincial Cup Winners Enter All-Ireland Race

The old Bateman Cup, which was contested by one club from each province, has been revived for this season in the form of the Bateman All-Ireland Cup.

The draw for the semi-finals of the All-Ireland Cup has taken place, with the four provincial cup winners facing off in a manner similar to the old Bateman Cup.

In reviving this tradition, the IRFU has decided to rename the All-Ireland Cup as the Bateman All-Ireland Cup.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The semi-finals of the competition will take place over the weekend of January 22 and 23, with the final set for the weekend of April 9-10.

Ulster Senior Cup champions Dungannon will entertain Connacht holders Corinthians at Stevenson Park on Saturday, January 22.

The second semi-final sees the cup winners in Munster and Leinster going head-to-head as UCD pay Bruff a visit at Kilballyowen Park.

None of the four clubs involved have won the All-Ireland Cup since it was introduced in 2005.

Bruff will be hoping to uphold Munster’s fine tradition in the competition – Cork Constitution (2006 and 2010), Garryowen (2007) and Shannon (2008) have all triumped in recent years.

Ballynahinch broke Munster’s stranglehold on the trophy with a stunning victory over Cork Con in 2009.


Saturday, January 22 –

DUNGANNON v CORINTHIANS, Stevenson Park, 2.30pm

Sunday, January 23 –

BRUFF v UCD, Kilballyowen Park, 3pm

Competition Rules:

For the semi-finals and final, seven replacements may tog out and play.

(i) If clubs are tied at full-time, extra time of 10 minutes each way shall be played.

(ii) If still tied, the club which has scored most tries shall be the winner.

(iii) If still tied, the away team shall be declared the winner.