Jump to main content


Munster Women Retain Interpro Title

Munster Women Retain Interpro Title

Munster claimed their fifth IRFU Women’s Interprovincial Championship title in-a-row thanks to a 21-3 win over Leinster in Saturday’s final at Donnybrook.



Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Leinster: Pen: Nora Stapleton
Munster: Tries: Christine Fanning, Sarah Jane Cody, Laura Guest; Pens: Niamh Briggs 2

Coached by former Ireland coach John O’Sullivan and ex-international Marie Barrett, Munster proved too strong for their closest rivals in recent years.

The defending champions laid an early marker and a brace of unconverted tries from hooker Christine Fanning and winger Sarah Jane Cody had them 10-3 ahead at half-time.

Leinster’s only score of the game came on the stroke of half-time from a penalty from Ireland international Nora Stapleton.

Prop Laura Guest grabbed Munster’s third try inside four minutes of the restart, and despite some periods of attacking pressure from Leinster, there was no stopping the red juggernaut.

Two late penalties from Ireland full-back Niamh Briggs put the seal on an 18-point triumph for O’Sullivan’s side.

Afterwards, Joy Neville and Helen Brosnan lifted the trophy together as Munster completed an unbeaten campaign – they beat Connacht 22-7 and Ulster 34-0 in the early rounds

LEINSTER WOMEN: Gill Nolan (St. Mary’s College); Katie Fitzhenry (Wexford Wanderers), Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere), Michelle Ross (St. Mary’s College), Ciara Kennedy (Navan); Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s College), Amy Davis (Blackrock); Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere), Sarah Crosby (Navan), Emer McManamly (Blackrock), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere), Rachel Vickers (Clondalkin), Sinead Ryan (Blackrock) (capt), Laura Haley (Old Belvedere), Deirdre O’Brien (Blackrock).

Replacements: Kerry Ann Craddock (Exile), Carmella Morey (Cill Dara), Orla Fitzsimmons (St. Mary’s College), Sheena Moore (Old Belvedere), Fionnuala Gleeson (Old Belvedere), Elisa Byrne (White Trinity), Tammy Breen (Blackrock).

MUNSTER WOMEN: Niamh Briggs (Clonmel); Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemians), Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians), Geraldine Rea (Highfield), Sarah Jane Cody (UL Bohemians); Helen Brosnan (Highfield), Louise Beamish (UL Bohemians); Laura Guest (Highfield), Christine Fanning (Highfield), Gillian Bourke (Bristol), Heather O’Brien (Highfield), Karen Casey (Highfield), Louise Austin (Blackrock College), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee), Joy Neville (UL Bohemians) (capt).

Replacements: Donna Hughes (Highfield), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians), Orlaith Buckley (Highfield), Helen Jones (Highfield), Clara Bracken (Clonmel), Olivia Stapleton (UL Bohemians), Nicola Scully (Clonmel).

Referee: Dan Wallace (IRFU)