Jump to main content



Samoa Team Named For Saturday’s Test

Samoa Team Named For Saturday’s Test

The Samoa team to play Ireland this Saturday boasts a wealth of experience at the highest level with eight of the starting line-up playing in either the French Top 14 Championship or the English Premiership.

In the back-line, Samoa have two powerful wingers in Wasps’ David Lemi and Alesana Tuilagi, who played for Leicester Tigers in the 2009 Heineken Cup final against Leinster.

Inside centre Seilala Mapusua will be well known to Ireland as he played for London Irish in the recent Heineken Cup pool match against Munster.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mapusua will be relying on out-half Tasesa Lavea, another player with considerable experience in the Heineken Cup and French Championship with his club Clermont Auvergne, to supply him with attacking opportunities.

The side is captained by hooker Mahonri Schwalger, who plays his rugby with New Zealand province Taranaki and is part of a front row which also has English Premiership experience in prop Sakaria Taulafo.

Number 8 George Stowers, who also plays for London Irish in the Premiership, anchors a pack chocful of players, with the exception of former Connacht star Ofisa Trevarinus, who currently play in either the New Zealand provincial competitions or in Europe.

Samoa opened their tour of Ireland and the UK with a 26-22 defeat to Connacht at the Sportsground last Tuesday.

Simon, Lemalu, Ti’i Paulo, Junior Poluleuligaga and Jamie Helleur, who all started that game, have been included amongst the replacements for the Ireland Test, along with ex-Connacht centre Gavin Williams.

Tickets for Saturday’s Ireland v Samoa match are still available for purchase as single tickets here, up until this Friday, or from the IRFU offices at 10-12, Lansdowne Road on the day of the game right up until kick off at 2.30pm.

Tickets are priced at €;50 for adults and €;20 for school children.

SAMOA Team & Replacements (v Ireland, 2010 GUINNESS Series, Aviva Stadium, Saturday, November 13, kick-off 2.30pm):

15 – Paul Williams (Clermont Auvergne)
14 – David Lemi (London Wasps)
13 – George Pisi (Taranaki)
12 – Seilala Mapusua (London Irish)
11 – Alesana Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
10 – Tasesa Lavea (Clermont Auvergne)
9 – Kahn Fotualii (Canterbury)
1 – Sakaria Taulafo (London Wasps)
2 – Mahonri Schwalger (Taranaki) (capt)
3 – Anthony Perenise (Hawke’s Bay)
4 – Filipo Lavea Levi (Newcastle Falcons)
5 – Kane Thompsen (Southland)
6 – Ofisa Trevarinus (Malie, Samoa)
7 – Manaia Salavea (Narbonne)
8 – George Stowers (London Irish)


16 – Ti’i Paulo (Clermont Auvergne)
17 – Simon Lemalu (Counties Manukau)
18 – Iosefa Tekori (Castres Olympique)
19 – Afa Aiono (Leulumoega, Samoa)
20 – Junior Poluleuligaga (Exeter Chiefs)
21 – Gavin Williams (Clermont Auvergne)
22 – Jamie Helleur (Auckland)

Related Links –

Head-To-Head: Ireland v Samoa

Connacht Claim Samoa Scalp