Jump to main content



McNaughton Issues Squad Update

McNaughton Issues Squad Update

Prop Tony Buckley will miss Ireland’s clash with Samoa on Saturday afternoon and could be sidelined for the remainder of the GUINNESS Series, after suffering hip flexor damage during the 23-21 defeat to South Africa.

The Ireland squad and management assembled at their team hotel in Dublin on Monday morning to begin their preparations for the second match of the GUINNESS Series against Samoa.

With the dust settling on last Saturday’s 23-21 loss to South Africa at the Aviva Stadium, Ireland team manager Paul McNaughton confirmed that prop Tony Buckley has been ruled out of the Samoa game and full-back Rob Kearney is an injury doubt.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“We have two injuries of note. Tony Buckley has a hip flexor injury and is definitely out for Saturday and doubtful for rest of the November campaign,” he said.

“Rob Kearney has bad bruising on his knee. There is a strong possibility that he is out for Saturday as well, but he should be okay for the rest of the series.”

There have been some comings and goings in terms of playing personnel this week. Five additional players have been brought in – Leinster’s Isaac Boss, Mike Ross and Fergus McFadden, Ulster back rower Chris Henry and Munster hooker Damien Varley.

Meanwhile, Gavin Duffy needs treatment for a back complaint and his Connacht team-mate John Muldoon is set to feature for the province against Samoa tomorrow (Tuesday).

“Gavin Duffy is getting treatment for his back, so he won’t be in training this week,” explained McNaughton.

“John Muldoon has been released to get some game-time with Connacht against Samoa. That’s the update on the injury front.”

The Ireland team and replacements to face Samoa will be announced tomorrow afternoon.

IRELAND Squad (2010 GUINNESS Series v Samoa):

Forwards (17) –

Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Sean O’Brien (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) *
Damien Varley (Garryowen/Munster)
David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)

Backs (15) –

Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
Tommy Bowe (Ospreys)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Johne Murphy (Young Munster/Munster) *
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)

* Denotes uncapped player