Jump to main content


Sunday Showdown For Leinster And Munster ‘A’ Teams

Sunday Showdown For Leinster And Munster ‘A’ Teams

Tuning up for this season’s British & Irish Cup, the ‘A’ teams from Leinster and Munster will go head-to-head at Donnybrook on Sunday afternoon (kick-off 2.30pm).

Stephen Keogh skippers a strong Leinster ‘A’ side which includes a number of Academy players as well as several members of Ireland’s recent Under-20 Junior World Championship squad.

There are starts for two summer signings, lock Mariano Galarza and prop Ben Prescott, while recent Ireland senior cap Rhys Ruddock is named amongst the replacements.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Leinster ‘A’ coach Colin McEntee said: “Munster always provide strong opposition and we are expecting no different at Donnybrook on Sunday.

“We’re pleased to name an exciting and experienced team which includes several members of Ireland’s Under-20 World Championship panel, some senior players as well as some of our new signings.

“It’s an important game as we step up our preparations ahead of the British & Irish Cup campaign.

” In addition, with the reintroduction of some of the internationals to the senior squad this weekend, it gives valuable game-time and an opportunity to impress for the remainder of the squad, many of whom who will have been involved in recent weeks.”

Meanwhile, Anthony Foley’s selected Munster ‘A’ team has a similar mix of youth and experience for the Dublin clash.

The pack alone contains the likes of Darragh Hurley, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell and James Coughlan who, between them, have 100 Munster senior caps. The versatile Holland started last weekend’s Magners League win over Aironi Rugby.

 The back-line includes Heineken Cup medal winner Denis Hurley, with 52 senior caps to his name, and a half-back combination of Scott Deasy and Duncan Williams who were both used as replacements against Aironi.

* There is free entry into Donnybrook on Sunday for Leinster Season Ticket Holders upon presentation of their 2010/11 membership card.

LEINSTER ‘A’: Ian Madigan; Andrew Conway, Brendan Macken, Eamonn Sheridan, David Kearney; Ian McKinley, Paul O’Donohoe; Jack McGrath, Jason Harris-Wright, Ben Prescott, Mariano Galarza, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh (capt), Paul Ryan, Ben Marshall.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Stewart Maguire, Ronan McCormack, Eoin Sheriff, Rhys Ruddock, John Cooney, Noel Reid, Michael Keating.

MUNSTER ‘A’: Sean Scanlon; Denis Hurley, Ivan Dineen, Troy Smith, Simon Zebo; Scott Deasy, Duncan Williams; Darragh Hurley, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer, Dave Foley (capt), Ian Nagle, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Ger Burke, Dave Kilcoyne, Alan Cotter, Dave O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Conor Murray, Eric Moloney, Ronan O’Mahony.

Referee: Alan Lewis (IRFU)