Jump to main content


Rugbaí Beo Ar Ais Ar TG4

Rugbaí Beo Ar Ais Ar TG4

Celtic rugby will return to Irish language station TG4 on Saturday evening when they broadcast live coverage of Connacht’s Magners League opener against the Newport Gwent Dragons.

TG4 will provide extensive live coverage of the 2010/11 Magners League season with ‘Rugbaí Beo’ broadcasting each weekend from the top matches.

TG4’s coverage will start this coming Saturday with live action from the Connacht v Newport Gwent Dragons clash at the Sportsground. Coverage will begin at 5pm.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Commentary will be provided by Gearóid Mac Donncha and there will be pitchside analysis with Máire Treasa Ní Dhubhghaill.

The 22-round Magners League season kicks off this weekend and runs through until the weekend of May 6-8. The top four teams in the regular season will once again progress to the play-off semi-finals, which will be held on the weekend of May 13-15.

The Magners League grand final will be contested on the weekend of May 27-29.

Meanwhile, TG4’s autumn schedule also includes a major new four-part television history of Irish rugby, entitled ‘Gualainn le Gualainn’ (Shoulder to Shoulder).

It chronicles a story that began with a handful of ex-public schoolboys on the manicured grounds of Trinity College and that has blossomed into a major professional and amateur sport spanning all strands of Irish life.

The series, which was co-produced by Fastnet Films and D4 Films, includes the first broadcast of an incredible treasure trove of pre-World War II footage never before seen on Irish television.

The list of participants is a who’s who of Irish rugby for the past two generations and includes: Brian O’Driscoll, Willie John McBride, Jack Kyle, Tony Ward, Syd Millar, Ray McLoughlin, Fergus Slattery, Conor O’Shea, Keith Wood, Mick Galwey, Tom Kiernan, Willie Duggan and Moss Keane.


Saturday, September 4 – Connacht v Newport Gwent Dragons, the Sportsground, coverage begins 5pm

Friday, September 10 – Edinburgh v Munster, Murrayfield, coverage begins 7pm

Saturday, September 18 – Benetton Treviso v Leinster, Stadio Monigo, coverage begins 6pm

Saturday, September 25 – Connacht v Ulster, the Sportsground, coverage begins 7pm

Saturday, October 2 – Leinster v Munster, Aviva Stadium, coverage begins 7pm

Friday, October 22 – Munster v Benetton Treviso, coverage begins 7.30pm

Friday, October 29 – Ulster v Munster, Ravenhill, coverage begins 7pm

Sunday, November 21 – Munster v Scarlets, Musgrave Park, coverage begins 5.30pm

Sunday, November 28 – Ospreys v Leinster, Liberty Stadium, coverage begins 4.55pm

Saturday, December 4 – Munster v Cardiff Blues, Thomond Park, coverage begins 7pm

Sunday, December 26 – Connacht v Munster, the Sportsground, coverage at 4.30pm