Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Team Announced For Opening Game

Ireland Women’s Team Announced For Opening Game

The Ireland Women’s team for their opening game of the Women’s Rugby World Cup against England has been named by head coach Philip Doyle. The Pool B encounter, which kicks off at 6.30pm on Friday, will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 2.

Irish coach Philip Doyle has named an experienced side but has also found space for some relatively new faces who have broken into the squad in the last two seasons.

Niamh Briggs, named as one of the IRB’s ‘players to watch’, starts at full-back. She is joined in the back-three by Old Belvedere’s Nora Stapleton, who made her debut this year, and the pacy Amy Davis.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ireland’s most-capped current player, Lynne Cantwell, will make her first appearance in green in over a year as she takes her place in the centre after a stint playing in New Zealand. Joanne O’Sullivan completes what is an experienced centre pairing with over 100 caps between them.

Helen Brosnan starts at out-half, a position she filled in Ireland’s most recent game against England. She is partnered again by the accomplished Tania Rosser at scrum half.

Team captain Fiona Coghlan will link up in the front row with Gillian Bourke and Louise Austin, with all three players hailing from current Women’s All-Ireland League Division 1 and Cup champions, UL Bohemians.

Navan starlet Marie Louise Reilly and Clonmel’s Kate O’Loughlin form the second row combination, while the back row unit features the highly-experienced Orla Brennan and Joy Neville alongside relative newcomer Claire Molloy.

Looking forward to his side’s opening game, Doyle said: “I have been really impressed with the skills, dedication and commitment the girls have shown over the last number of months.

“The attitude of the squad has been phenomenal. Now we just want to get onto the pitch and play.”

IRELAND WOMEN’S TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v England Women, 2010 Women’s Rugby World Cup Pool B, Surrey Sports Park, Friday, August 20, kick-off 6.30pm):

15 – Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
14 – Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
13 – Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Exile)
12 – Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemians)
11 – Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
10 – Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)
9 – Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
1 – Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
2 – Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3 – Louise Austin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
4 – Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
5 – Marie Louise Reilly (Navan/Leinster)
6 – Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)


16 – Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
17 – Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
18 – Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)
19 – Sinead Ryan (Blackrock/Leinster)
20 – Louise Beamish (UL Bohemian/Munster)
21 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
22 – Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Ireland Women’s Rugby World Cup Pool B Fixtures –

England v Ireland, Surrey, Friday, August 20, 6.30pm
USA v Ireland, Surrey, Tuesday, August 24, 4.30pm
Ireland v Kazakhstan, Surrey, Saturday, August 28, 4.30pm