Jump to main content


Ireland Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad Announced

Ireland Women’s Rugby World Cup Squad Announced

The Ireland squad for the forthcoming Women’s Rugby World Cup in England has been announced. Fiona Coghlan will again captain a squad that contains a number of seasoned internationals alongside some of the new faces who emerged during the recent Six Nations campaign.

Fiona Coghlan of recently crowned Women’s All-Ireland League and Cup champions UL Bohemians will again captain the side as she did during the Six Nations Championship where Ireland finished third, winning three out of their five games.

Coghlan is joined in the pack by the experienced Orla Brennan and Joy Neville as well as by the emerging Mary Louise Reilly and Chris Fanning, who both earned their first cap against Italy earlier this year.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Ireland squad has been boosted by the return of experienced back Lynne Cantwell who is back after a spell in New Zealand.

She is joined in the backs by the likes of Tania Rosser and Shannon Houston as well as the emerging Nora Stapleton, another newcomer against Italy this year.

Ireland will open their campaign with a tough encounter against the host team and one of the pre-tournament favourites, England.

Ireland then play former winners and three-time finalists, USA, in their second game, with the final pool fixture against Kazakhstan four days later.

All the pool games will take place at the Surrey Sports Camp which will serve as the Rugby World Cup village for all participating squads.

Tickets for the tournament are available on www.Ticketmaster.co.uk.


Backs (12) –

Louise Beamish (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Niamh Briggs (Clonmel/Munster)
Helen Brosnan (Highfield/Munster)
Lynne Cantwell (UL Bohemians)
Amy Davis (Blackrock/Leinster)
Eliza Downey (Cooke/Ulster)
Shannon Houston (Blackrock/Leinster)
Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Joanne O’Sullivan (Richmond/Exile)
Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
Jackie Shiels (Richmond/Leinster)
Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Forwards (14) –

Louise Austin (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Orla Brennan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster) (capt)
Lauren Day (Cooke/Ulster)
Chris Fanning (Highfield/Munster)
Caroline Mahon (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
Joy Neville (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Yvonne Nolan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Kate O’Loughlin (Clonmel/Munster)
Marie Louise Reilly (Navan/Leinster)
Sinead Ryan (Blackrock/Leinster)
Carol Staunton (Galwegians/Connacht)

Ireland Women’s Rugby World Cup Fixtures:

England v Ireland, Surrey, Friday, August 20, 6.30pm

USA v Ireland, Surrey, Tuesday, August 24, 4.30pm

Ireland v Kazakhstan, Surrey, Saturday, August 28, 4.30pm

Related Links –

Ireland Women – Squad Profiles

Womens’ Rugby World Cup

Click here for tickets