Jump to main content


Caleb Powell Appointed IRFU President

Caleb Powell Appointed IRFU President

Caleb Powell assumed the office of 122nd President of the Irish Rugby Football Union at the annual Council meeting being held at the Aviva Stadium today (July 2).

Caleb Powell’s nomination to the highest office in Irish rugby brings to 14 the number of members from Lansdowne FC to be so honoured.

He was President of Lansdowne Rugby Club in the 1993/94 season and also President of the Leinster Branch of the IRFU in 1997/98.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

A native of Nenagh in County Tipperary, the retired deputy head at The King’s Hospital school, who is married to Gillian and has three children, Bob, Lynn and David, has had a distinguished career as a player, coach and administrator.

A member of the IRFU Committee since the 1998/99 season, Powell has sat on a variety of Committees and is well known for his rich contribution to the Schools game.

He was the Schools’ representative on the Leinster Branch for over 20 years, from 1980 to 2006.

Educated at The King’s Hospital, Dublin University and London University, he was a noted second row forward with Nenagh Ormond, UL Bohemians, Dublin University and Lansdowne.

He won two Munster Senior Cup medals with Bohemians in 1957 and 1958 and captained Lansdowne to Leinster Senior Cup success in 1965. He was capped for Munster during the Interprovincial Championship of 1962/63.

Following his playing days, Powell coached the King’s Hospital School, Lansdowne, the Leinster Schools and the Ireland Schools sides.

* The previous members of Lansdowne FC to become President of the IRFU were: G. Scriven (1883/84), J. Chambers (1888/89), R.G. Warren (1895/96), J. B. Moore (1899/00), Anthony Barr (1908/09), Jack Coffey snr (1923/24), J. J. Warren (1938/45), Sarsfield Hogan (1948/49), Ernie Crawford (1957/58), Tommy O’Reilly (1963/64), Eugene Davy (1967/68), Judge J.C. Conroy (1972/73), Jack Coffey jnr (1978/79).