Jump to main content


PWC logo

Ireland Under-20s Depart For Junior World Championship

Ireland Under-20s Depart For Junior World Championship

The Ireland Under-20 squad, sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers, departed for Argentina on Monday as they look forward to an exciting IRB Junior World Championship campaign.

Ireland Under-20 coach Allen Clarke finalised his 26-man squad for the tournament with the inclusion of Leinster centre David McSharry and Munster flanker Brian O’Hara.

The squad took part in a final training session at the weekend in Johnstown where they were joined by sponsors PricewaterhouseCoopers for a good luck lunch.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Feargal O’Rourke, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, said: “We wish the Under-20 squad and management every success in the forthcoming IRB Junior World Championship in Argentina.

“Their winning of the recent RBS U-20 6 Nations Championship title gives great hope for a strong performance.

“I have no doubt that quite a number of this squad will go far in the professional game. We are delighted to support Irish rugby and the Under -20s in particular as we feel that their talent, dedication and teamwork reflect shared values with PwC.”

Ireland are in Pool B with France, England and hosts Argentina. Clarke’s charges begin their tournament with a match against France next Saturday.

The game will be televised live from Rosario (kick-off 2pm local time/6pm Irish time) on Setanta Sports Ireland, who will have live coverage of all of Ireland’s pool ties.

IRELAND UNDER-20 SQUAD (2010 IRB Junior World Championship, Argentina):

Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Denis Buckley (Corinthians/Connacht)
Patrick Butler (Shannon/Munster)
Bryan Cagney (UCC/Munster)
Andrew Conway (Blackrock/Leinster)
John Cooney (UCD/Leinster)
David Doyle (UCD/Leinster)
Eoin Griffin (Corinthians/Connacht)
Brian Hayes (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Michael Heaney (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
Darren Hudson (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster)
Stewart Maguire (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Ben Marshall (UCD/Leinster)
James McKinney (Queen’s University/Ulster)
David McSharry (UCD/Leinster)
Jordi Murphy (Blackrock/Leinster)
David O’Callaghan (UCC/Munster)
Jack O’Connell (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
Brian O’Hara (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Noel Reid (UCD/Leinster)
Rhys Ruddock (UCD/Leinster) (capt)
Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Nevin Spence (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)


Saturday, June 5: Ireland v France, Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario, 2pm local time (6pm Irish time)

Wednesday, June 9: Ireland v England, Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario, 2pm local time (6pm Irish time)

Sunday, June 13: Argentina v Ireland, Estadio El Coloso del Parque, Rosario, 4pm local time (8pm Irish time)