Jump to main content


Dates Set For AIB League Finals

Dates Set For AIB League Finals

The finals of the AIB League Play-off Championships have been set for the second weekend in May. The Division 2 and 3 finals will take place at Anglesea Road on Friday, May 7, with the Division 1 play-off final set for Athlone’s Dubarry Park on Saturday, May 8.

This weekend sees the divisional semi-finals of the AIB League taking place with some interesting matches, not least the top flight clash between St. Mary’s College, who finished second in Division 1A, and their Dublin rivals Old Belvedere, the Division 1B table toppers.

The divisional finals have been set for the weekend of May 7 and 8. The Division 2 and Division 3 finals will take place at Anglesea Road, the home of Old Belvedere, with the Division 3 decider kicking off at 6pm and the Division 2 final at 8pm.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Division 2 final will have at least one Dublin side contesting the title, as the impresive Lansdowne face De La Salle Palmerston in one of this Saturday’s semi-finals, while Bruff will host Terenure College in the other.

In Division 3, the final will be an Ulster-Munster affair. In the first semi-final, free-flowing Queen’s University, who notched up 580 points and twelve try-scoring bonus points in their 14 wins to date, will host a rugged Banbridge side who won an impressive 10 games thos season.

The second semi-final is a mouth-watering Munster derby with Midleton at home to Nenagh Ormond.

In Division 1, the top three teams in Division 1A – Cork Constitution, St. Mary’s College and Dolphin – are joined by Old Belvedere who led the way in Division 1B with an impressive eleven wins.

Constitution topped Division 1A thanks to their win over Dolphin last Saturday and will be hoping to repeat their 2008 form which saw them take the title at Musgrave Park.

They will face Dolphin again next Saturday as Steve Ford’s men managed to hold onto third place. Cork Con and Dolphin won one game each when the sides met in the league phase.

St. Mary’s College, the title winners back in 2000, will be hoping for a long-awaited reunion with the trophy but will first have to overcome a buoyant Old Belvedere outfit that thumped UCC 48-3 in their final league match last weekend.

The St. Mary’s v Old Belvedere game at Templeville Road will be televised live on RTE Two on Saturday (kick-off 2.05pm).


Saturday, April 17 –

Division 1 Semi-Finals:

Cork Constitution v Dolphin, Temple Hill, 2.30pm
St. Mary’s College v Old Belvedere, Templeville Road, 2.05 pm (live RTE Two)

Division 2 Semi-Finals:

Lansdowne v De La Salle Palmerston, the RDS, 2.30pm
Bruff v Terenure College, Kilballyowen Park, 2.30pm

Division 3 Semi-Finals:

Queen’s University v Banbridge, Dub Lane, 2.30pm
Midleton v Nenagh Ormond, Towns Park, 2.30pm

Friday, May 7 –

Division 2 Final, Anglesea Road, 8pm

Division 3 Final, Anglesea Road, 6pm

Saturday, May 8 –

Division 1 Final, Dubarry Park, kick-off tbc