Jump to main content


Bonus Point Finish For Blackrock

Bonus Point Finish For Blackrock

Blackrock College secured their place in AIB League Division 1A for next season by overwhelming relegated UL Bohemians at Stradbrook on Saturday.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1A: Saturday, April 10


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Blackrock College: Tries: Kyle Tonetti 2, Andrew Conway, Shane Monahan, Sean Byrne; Cons: Ian Madigan 3, Darragh Fitzpatrick; Pen: Darragh Fitzpatrick
UL Bohemians: Tries: Dave Moloney 2; Con: Fergal Lawlor; Pens: Fergal Lawlor 2

Young centre Dave Moloney scored a try in each half for a valiant Bohs side, but Blackrock were a class apart with the likes of Andrew Conway and Shane Monahan running amuck when given the space.

It was a tight enough first half with out-halves Ian Madigan and Fergal Lawlor trying to find field position for their sides, and the likes of Conway and Bohs winger Danny Riordan looking threatening out wide.

There was little to choose between the packs, although number 8 Mick Carroll impressed for ‘Rock and promising lock Dave Foley and skipper John Ed O’Connor stood out for the visitors.

But ‘Rock’s ability to carve out opportunity after opportunity – and take them most importantly – saw them canter clear in the second period.

Tries from Conway, centre Kyle Tonetti, Monahan and replacement front rower Sean Byrne made it back-to-back wins for Barry Gibney’s men.

BLACKROCK COLLEGE: Andrew Conway; Mark Scott-Lennon, Darragh Fitzpatrick, Kyle Tonetti, Shane Monahan; Ian Madigan, David Moore; Shane Cahill, Richardt Strauss, Kyle Cahill, Des Dillon (capt), Alex Dunlop, Paul Ryan, Zack Farivarz, Mick Carroll.

Replacements: Cian Culleton, Sean Byrne, Paul Graham, Brendan Macken, Stanley McDowell.

UL BOHEMIANS: Ed Torrie; Danny Riordan, Dave Moloney, Dan Kelly, Martin McPhail; Fergal Lawlor, Paul Rowley; Mike Storey, Eddie Rossiter, Pa O’Regan, Mark Feely, Dave Foley, Kieran O’Gorman, John Ed O’Connor (capt), Sean Rennison.

Replacements: Podge Hogan, Kevin Flanagan, Noel Kinane, Cathal Sheridan, Mark Doyle.