Jump to main content


Ulster Announce Squad For Ospreys Clash

Ulster Announce Squad For Ospreys Clash

Ulster coach Brian McLaughlin has named an extended 31-man squad for the province’s refixed Magners League encounter with the Ospreys at Ravenhill next Tuesday (kick-off 7.30pm).

Commenting on the loss to Cardiff last time out and the refixed tie against the Ospreys, Brian McLaughlin said: “Last week against Cardiff we simply weren’t good enough. We made a strong start, but went on to give away too many soft points.

“It was very disappointing because we know we can win these games.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Losing at Ravenhill is not something that is taken lightly. Playing in-front of your home crowd means so much to each player and each coach, so we all know what is required of us come Tuesday.

“It will be a very tough game for us, but we have to make sure we’re in their face and don’t let them play. We will not gift the Ospreys such easy scores.

“We have to make sure we are up for the game, we have to compete and we have to make sure we beat them at Ravenhill. We have to go to town with them up front and show that we are more than capable of dealing with them.

“We all know not to underestimate them. The Ospreys are a dangerous side who can and do compete at the highest level, so we need to ensure we give them nothing to play with.”

There are two notable additions to the Ulster squad that was on duty for the Cardiff game last week, with Ireland prop Tom Court returning from injury and Ireland Under-20 centre/winger Nevin Spence joining the backs. Paddy McAllister drops out of the squad.

The players currently unavailable due to injury are: Mark McCrea, Bryn Cunningham, Adam Macklin, Ian Porter, Cillian Willis, Matt McCullough and Justin Fitzpatrick.

Tickets are still available for the Ulster v Ospreys tie. Tickets purchased for the two postponed games are valid for Tuesday night.

To purchase tickets for Tuesday’s match, click here, call the Ticket Line on tel: 028 90 493 222 (Option 2) or visit the Ticket Office at Ravenhill (Monday-Friday, 9am to 5pm).

Tickets are also available from Ulster Rugby ticket outlets throughout the province.

ULSTER Squad (v Ospreys) – Backs (15): Jamie Smith, Paul Marshall, Simon Danielli, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Timoci Nagusa, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Isaac Boss, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble, Michael Heaney, Jonny Shiells, Tommy Seymour, Nevin Spence. 

Forwards (16): Declan Fitzpatrick, Bryan Young, Tom Court, BJ Botha, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Ed O’Donoghue, Dan Tuohy, Ryan Caldwell, Chris Henry, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris, Robbie Diack, Thomas Anderson, David Pollock, Rory Best.