Jump to main content


Win Sees Cork Con Secure Home Semi-Final

Win Sees Cork Con Secure Home Semi-Final

Winger Richie Lane helped himself to 13 points as Cork Constitution moved back to the top of AIB League Division 1A with a 33-5 thumping of UL Bohemians at Annacotty.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1A: Saturday, April 3


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: UL Bohemians: Try: Harry de Stacpoole
Cork Constitution: Tries: Stephen Archer, Tom Gleeson 2, David O’Driscoll, Richie Lane; Cons: Richie Lane 4

Richie Lane scored a try and four conversions, with replacement scrum half David O’Driscoll and Munster duo Stephen Archer and Tom Glesson also crossing the hosts’ whitewash.

The five-try win has moved Cork Constitution four points clear at the summit, with just one round of matches remaining, and with a six-point gap back to third-placed Dolphin, Brian Walsh’s side have secured a prized home semi-final.

UL Bohemians’ tenth defeat of the league campaign has ended their brave fight against relegation. They are destined to finish bottom, with Clontarf eight points ahead of them.

Prop Archer muscled over for the opening try and centre Gleeson cut through on the right for a 32nd minute effort, with the AIB Club International winger Lane landing both conversions for a 14-0 half-time lead.

Bohs showed great battling qualities when beating Garryowen last time out but Cork Con were dictating play here and the misery continued for the Limerick men when replacement O’Driscoll touched down from close range.

Gleeson, who started in a back-line that included Scott Deasy at full-back, earned the Leesiders’ bonus point in the 78th minute, breaking through a tackle to score to the right of the posts.

There was still time for replacement Harry de Stacpoole to grab a consolation score for UL, but Lane had the final say for Constitution with a converted try in injury-time.

UL BOHEMIANS: Danny Riordan; Cian Aherne, Martin McPhail, Dan Kelly, Dave Moloney; Fergal Lawlor, Paul Rowley; Dave Kilcoyne, Eddie Rossiter, Pa O’Regan, Dave Foley, Mark Feely, Kieran O’Gorman, Tommy O’Donnell, Noel Kinane.

Replacements: Kevin Flanagan, Mike Storey, Ian Condell, Harry de Stacpoole, Mark Doyle, Podge Hogan.

CORK CONSTITUTION: Scott Deasy; Richie Lane, Tom Gleeson, Evan Ryan, Cronan Healy; Daragh Lyons, Alex Ryan; Martin Gately, Robert Quinn, Stephen Archer, Ian Nagle, Merle O’Connell, Billy Holland, Peter O’Mahony, Frank Cogan.

Replacements used: David O’Driscoll.

Referee: David Keane (IRFU)