Jump to main content


Ireland U-18 Clubs Team Named For Tournament Opener

Ireland U-18 Clubs Team Named For Tournament Opener

The Ireland Under-18 Clubs team and replacements (sponsored by PricewaterhouseCoopers) to play Germany in the opening game of the FIRA-AER U-18 Tournament in Treviso on Sunday has been named.

Ireland Under-18 Clubs team coach Greg Lynch has included Buccaneers youngster Jack Carty, who played in the tournament last year, at out-half. He will be partnered at half-back by Jack Walsh from the Exiles U-18s.

Up front, Alan O’Connor of Skerries will captain the team from the second row, where he is joined by Monivea’s Conor Kindregan.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The back row features two Navan players in Akhlaque Khan and Conor Ryan with Wicklow’s Daniel Mannion completing an all-Leinster trio.

The winners of Sunday’s Group A game progress to a semi-final against either Romania or Georgia.

The Ireland U-18 Clubs side has reached the finals in two of the last three seasons and finished third overall last year.

Click here to listen to a preview interview with team manager Willie Gribben.

IRELAND UNDER-18 CLUBS Team & Replacements (v Germany Under-18s, FIRA-AER U-18 European Championship Group A, San Dona, Treviso, Sunday, March 28, kick-off 5pm local time (4pm Irish time): 

15. Shane Layden (Cistercian Coll. Roscrea – Connacht)
14. Ferdia Kenny (Presentation Bray/Greystones – Leinster)
13. Thomas Daly (Carlow – Leinster)
12. Christopher Farrell (Clogher Valley – Ulster)
11. Joe Keane (UL Bohemians – Munster)
10. Jack Carty (Buccaneers – Connacht)
9. Jack Walsh (London Wasps – Exiles)
1. Tom Margetson (Wellington College – Exiles)
2. Christopher Tonge (Skerries – Leinster)
3. Jake Considine (Young Munster – Munster)
4. Conor Kindregan (Monivea – Connacht)
5. Alan O’Connor (Skerries – Leinster) (capt)
6. Daniel Mannion (Wicklow – Leinster)
7. Akhlaque Khan (Navan – Leinster)
8. Conor Ryan (Navan – Leinster)


16. Tadhg Furlong (New Ross – Leinster)
17. Kieran Ball (Wellington College/Saracens – Exiles)
18. Jonathan Murphy (Banbridge – Ulster)
19. Eoghan Masterson (Portlaoise – Leinster)
20. Charles Gallagher (Banbridge – Ulster)
21. Conor Clancy (Stoneyhurst College/London Irish – Exiles)
22. Kieran Marmion (Kirkham GS – Exiles)
23. Grant Connon (Newcastle Falcons – Exiles)
24. Michael Sherlock (Skerries – Leinster)
25. Callum Boland (Buccaneers – Connacht)
26. Cian McGovern (Crosshaven – Munster)