Jump to main content


AIB League Provincial League Play-Offs

AIB League Provincial League Play-Offs

The AIB League Provincial League play-offs kick off this weekend with City of Derry, Seapoint, Richmond and Monivea all chasing a place in Division 3.

The AIB League Provincial League play-offs kick off in style this weekend when current AIB Junior Cup champions City of Derry play host to Seapoint, winners of that cup back in 2007.

The game kicks off at Judge’s Road at 2.30pm on Saturday. At the same time at Richmond Park, Richmond will take on Monivea in the other opening round tie.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

April 10 will see Monivea at home to City of Derry and Seapoint at home to Richmond.

The third and final round of matches on April 17 sees Seapoint travelling to Monivea and Richmond on the road to City of Derry.

The points scoring system for the Provincial League Championship is the same as the AIB League.

The winner is automatically promoted to AIB League Division 3 with the second-placed team facing a play-off final against the team finishing second-from-bottom in Division 3.

City of Derry came through a play-off against Armagh in front of a few thousand spectators last night to take the Ulster qualifying spot. Both sides had finished the season with 17 wins and 83 points in the Kukri Ulster Qualifying League.

Seapoint topped the Leinster League with points to spare, having won 13 of their 14 games. They notched up 36 tries in the regulation phase of the season, making them a force to be reckoned with.

In Connacht, Monivea have gone undefeated in the Junior League and have scored 58 tries to finish ahead of Sligo and Ballina in the pecking order.

Finally in Munster, Richmond squeezed past Tralee with two points to spare, winning 10 out of their 11 league games to take the play-off spot.



Saturday, March 27:

City of Derry v Seapoint, Judge’s Road
Richmond v Monivea, Richmond Park

Saturday, April 10:

Monivea v City of Derry, Castle Grounds
Seapoint v Richmond, Kilbogget Park

Saturday, April 17:

Monivea v Seapoint, Castle Grounds
City of Derry v Richmond, Judge’s Road