Jump to main content


Robinson Names Unchanged Scotland Side

Robinson Names Unchanged Scotland Side

Scotland coach Andy Robinson has selected an unchanged starting line-up for Saturday’s final RBS 6 Nations Championship match against Ireland at Croke Park (kick-off 5pm).

The selection means that flanker Kelly Brown, who had to retire in the second-half of last Saturday’s Calcutta Cup clash with a head knock, is satisfying the return to play medical protocols and is fit to take his place in the back row.

Scottish boss Andy Robinson reckons his charges can build on their 15-15 draw with England and gain a tangible reward from their efforts in the competition.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“I have spoken about the need for us to be consistent and put together back-to-back performances,” he said.

“We did some good things against England last weekend but we have to look for improvements against a well-balanced Ireland team who will be looking to bow out on a high in the final match at Croke Park.”

On the replacements bench, Scotland, who are currently bottom of the RBS 6 Nations table, show three changes.

Scrum half Mike Blair and prop Alasdair Dickinson have both recovered from concussion, which ruled them out of the England game, and they are preferred to Rory Lawson and Geoff Cross respectively.

Elsewhere on the bench, Leinster lock Nathan Hines has been ruled out through a knee injury, so Glasgow Warriors’ 20-year-old lock Richie Gray returns to a matchday 22 which also includes Ulster winger Simon Danielli.

SCOTLAND Team & Replacements (v Ireland, RBS 6 Nations Championship, Croke Park, Saturday, March 20, kick-off 5pm):

15 – Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais)
14 – Sean Lamont (Scarlets)
13 – Nick De Luca (Edinburgh)
12 – Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors)
11 – Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors)
10 – Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors)
9 – Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) (capt)
1 – Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh)
2 – Ross Ford (Edinburgh)
3 – Euan Murray (Northampton Saints)
4 – Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh)
5 – Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors)
6 – Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
7 – John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors)
8 – Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors)


16 – Scott Lawson (Gloucester)
17 – Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester)
18 – Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
19 – Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh)
20 – Mike Blair (Edinburgh)
21 – Phil Godman (Edinburgh)
22 – Simon Danielli (Ulster)