Jump to main content



Head-To-Head: Ireland v Scotland

Head-To-Head: Ireland v Scotland

See below for a statistical preview of Saturday’s RBS 6 Nations match between Ireland and Scotland at Croke Park (kick-off 5pm).

2010 RBS 6 NATIONS CHAMPIONSHIP: Saturday, March 20

IRELAND v SCOTLAND, Croke Park, 5pm (live RTÉ Two/BBC One)

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

IRELAND: Geordan Murphy (Leicester Tigers); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys), Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster) (capt), Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster), Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster); Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster); Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster), Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster), John Hayes (Bruff/Munster), Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster), Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster), Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster), David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster), Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster).

Replacements: Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht), Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster), Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster), Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster), Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster), Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster), Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster).

SCOTLAND: Hugo Southwell (Stade Francais); Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Max Evans (Glasgow Warriors); Dan Parks (Glasgow Warriors), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors) (capt); Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Euan Murray (Northampton Saints), Jim Hamilton (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Glasgow Warriors), John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Johnnie Beattie (Glasgow Warriors).

Replacements: Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Alasdair Dickinson (Gloucester), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Alan MacDonald (Edinburgh), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Phil Godman (Edinburgh), Simon Danielli (Ulster).

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Jerome Garces (France)
Television Match Official: Giulio de Santis (Italy)


Played – 123
Ireland Won – 55 
Scotland Won – 62
Drawn – 5
Abandoned – 1

Biggest Wins:

Ireland: Points: 44-22, 2000 Six Nations; Margin: 36-6, 2003 Six Nations 

Scotland: Points & Margin: 38-10, 1997 Five Nations

Individual Records In The Series:

Most Points In A Match: Ireland 26 (David Humphreys 2003); Scotland 18 (Chris Paterson 2007)

Most Tries In A Match: Ireland 3 (Eugene Davy 1930, Seamus Byrne 1953, Brian O’Driscoll 2002); Scotland 4 (William Stewart 1913)

Ireland v Scotland In The Six Nations:

2000 Ireland 44-22, Lansdowne Road 
2001 Scotland 32-10, Murrayfield
2002 Ireland 43-22, Lansdowne Road 
2003 Ireland 36-6, Murrayfield
2004 Ireland 37-16, Lansdowne Road 
2005 Ireland 40-13, Murrayfield
2006 Ireland 15-9, Lansdowne Road 
2007 Ireland 19-18, Murrayfield
2008 Ireland 34-13, Croke Park 
2009 Ireland 22-15, Murrayfield 

International Championship All-Time Records:

Points –
526 Jonny Wilkinson (England)
522 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
427 Stephen Jones (Wales)
406 Neil Jenkins (Wales)
372 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
297 Gavin Hastings (Scotland)
270 David Humphreys (Ireland)

Tries –
24 Ian Smith (Scotland)
21 Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland)
19 Shane Williams (Wales)
18 Cyril Lowe (England)
18 Rory Underwood (England)
18 Gareth Edwards (Wales)

Ireland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2009 Six Nations:

Won 30-21 v France home (6N)
Won 38-9 v Italy away (6N)
Won 14-13 v England home (6N)
Won 22-15 v Scotland away (6N)
Won 17-15 v Wales away (6N)
Won 25-6 v Canada away (Summer Tour)
Won 27-10 v USA away (Summer Tour)
Drew 20-20 v Australia home (Autumn Series)
Won 41-6 v Fiji home (Autumn Series)
Won 15-10 v South Africa home (Autumn Series)
Won 29-11 v Italy home (6N)
Lost 33-10 v France away (6N)
Won 20-16 v England away (6N)
Won 27-12 v Wales home (6N)

Scotland – Form Guide From Start Of The 2009 Six Nations: 

Lost 26-13 v Wales home (6N) 
Lost 22-13 v France away (6N) 
Won 26-6 v Italy home (6N) 
Lost 22-15 v Ireland home (6N)
Lost 26-12 v England home (6N)
Won 23-10 v Fiji home (Autumn Series) 
Won 9-8 v Australia home (Autumn Series)
Lost 9-6 v Argentina home (Autumn Series) 
Lost 18-9 v France home (6N) 
Lost 31-24 v Wales away (6N)
Lost 16-12 v Italy away (6N) 
Drew 15-15 v England home (6N)

Ireland – Most-Capped Players: 

101 John Hayes
100 Brian O’Driscoll
97 Ronan O’Gara
92 Malcolm O’Kelly
91 Peter Stringer
82 Girvan Dempsey
72 David Humphreys
70 Kevin Maggs
69 Mike Gibson
69 Paul O’Connell
66 Marcus Horan
65 Geordan Murphy
65 Shane Horgan
65 Simon Easterby
63 Willie John McBride

Ireland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers: 

952 Ronan O’Gara
560 David Humphreys
308 Michael Kiernan
296 Eric Elwood
217 Ollie Campbell
205 Brian O’Driscoll

Ireland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers: 

38 Brian O’Driscoll
29 Denis Hickie
21 Shane Horgan
19 Girvan Dempsey
18 Geordan Murphy
17 Brendan Mullin
15 Keith Wood
15 Kevin Maggs
14 George Stephenson
14 Ronan O’Gara
13 Tommy Bowe
12 Keith Crossan
12 David Wallace
11 Simon Geoghegan
11 Alan Duggan

Scotland – Most-Capped Players: 

100 Chris Paterson
87 Scott Murray
82 Gregor Townsend
77 Jason White
75 Gordon Bulloch
71 Stuart Grimes
70 Kenny Logan
66 Simon Taylor
65 Scott Hastings
64 Nathan Hines
61 Mike Blair
61 Gavin Hastings
61 Doddie Weir
61 Tom Smith
60 Craig Chalmers
60 Bryan Redpath 

Scotland – All-Time Leading Points Scorers: 

752 Chris Paterson
667 Gavin Hastings
273 Andy Irvine
220 Kenny Logan
210 Peter Dods
166 Craig Chalmers
164 Gregor Townsend 

Scotland – All-Time Leading Try Scorers: 

24 Ian Smith
24 Tony Stanger
22 Chris Paterson
17 Gavin Hastings
17 Alan Tait
17 Gregor Townsend

World Rugby All-Time Top Points Scorers:

1172 Jonny Wilkinson (1105-England, 67-Lions)
1090 Neil Jenkins (1049-Wales, 41-Lions)
1010 Diego Dominguez (27-Argentina, 983-Italy)
994 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
967 Andrew Mehrtens (New Zealand)
952 Ronan O’Gara (Ireland)
911 Michael Lynagh (Australia)
893 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
878 Matt Burke (Australia)
829 Stephen Jones (776-Wales, 53-Lions)
752 Chris Paterson (Scotland)
733 Gavin Hastings (667-Scotland, 66-Lions)

World Rugby All-Time Top Try Scorers:

64 David Campese (Australia)
52 Shane Williams (50-Wales, 2-Lions)
50 Rory Underwood (49-England, 1-Lions)
49 Doug Howlett (New Zealand)
46 Christian Cullen (New Zealand)
45 Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand)
44 Jeff Wilson (New Zealand)
41 Gareth Thomas (40-Wales, 1-Lions)
40 Chris Latham (Australia)
39 Brian O’Driscoll (38-Ireland, 1-Lions)
(Note: Daisuke Ohata scored 69 tries for Japan, but not all against major international opposition)

The ‘100 Caps’ Club:

139 George Gregan (Australia)
119 Jason Leonard (114-England, 5-Lions)
118 Fabien Pelous (France)
111 Philippe Sella (France)
110 George Smith (Australia)
106 Brian O’Driscoll (100-Ireland, 6-Lions)
103 Gareth Thomas (100-Wales, 3-Lions)
103 John Hayes (101-Ireland, 2-Lions)
102 Stephen Larkham (Australia)
102 Percy Montgomery (South Africa)
101 David Campese (Australia)
101 Alessandro Troncon (Italy)
100 Chris Paterson (Scotland)

99 Ronan O’Gara (97-Ireland, 2-Lions)
99 Martyn Williams (95-Wales, 4-Lions)
98 Raphael Ibanez (France)
96 Colin Charvis (94-Wales, 2-Lions)