Jump to main content


Henry To Lead Ireland Wolfhounds

Henry To Lead Ireland Wolfhounds

The Ireland Wolfhounds team and replacements to play Scotland ‘A’ this Friday evening (kick-off 7.30pm) at Ravenhill has been announced. Ulster’s Chris Henry will skipper the Wolfhounds in their first game under the new name.

Chris Henry comes into the Ireland team as one of several changes to the side that lost 17-13 to the England Saxons last Sunday and has also been selected to lead the Wolfhounds in their first competitive outing. 

With other players moving into the senior squad for this weekend’s RBS 6 Nations opener against Italy, the selected Wolfhounds shows seven personnel changes overall to the starting side from that Saxons game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Johne Murphy is available and takes his place on the right wing, and Darren Cave starts at outside centre with Fergus McFadden moving to inside centre and Keith Matthews named among the replacements.

Also in the back-line, Ian Humphreys, who came on during the Saxons game, will start at out-half against the Scottish visitors.

In the pack, Sean Cronin will start at hooker and Ryan Caldwell comes into the side – replacing Mick O’Driscoll – to partner Devin Toner in the second row.

With Sean O’Brien named in the replacements for the senior team, Dan Tuohy will start on the blindside of the Irish scrum, with Shane Jennings moving to openside flanker.

Tickets for Friday’s international clash in Belfast are available from the Ravenhill Ticket Office (Monday-Friday, 9am to 5pm), the Ticket Hotline (tel: 028 90 493 222, Option 2 (Monday-Friday, 10am-12pm)), SS Moores (6 Chichester Street, Belfast, tel: 028 90 322966) or by clicking here.

IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Team & Replacements (v Scotland ‘A’, ‘A’ International Match, Ravenhill, Friday, February 5, kick-off 7.30pm):

15 – Gavin Duffy (Galwegians/Connacht)
14 – Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
13 – Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
12 – Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
11 – Ian Dowling (Shannon/Munster)
10 – Ian Humphreys (Ballymena/Ulster)
9 – Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
1 – Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
2 – Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)
3 – Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
4 – Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)
5 – Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
6 – Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
7 – Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8 – Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster) (capt)


16 – Nigel Brady (Dungannon/Ulster)
17 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
18 – Ed O’Donoghue (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
19 – Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
20 – Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
21 – Ian Keatley (Galwegians/Connacht)
22 – Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht)