Jump to main content


Referees Appointed For Final Rounds Of Heineken Cup

Referees Appointed For Final Rounds Of Heineken Cup

ERC, the tournament organisers, today announced the referee appointments and additional broadcast coverage for the remaining 24 pool matches in this season’s Heineken Cup.

Peter Fitzgibbon will get the final two rounds of pool matches of the 15th Heineken Cup season up and running when the Irish referee takes charge of the Pool 2 clash between Glasgow Warriors and the Newport Gwent Dragons at Firhill on Friday, January 15.

Three referees – Alan Lewis, Alain Rolland and Chris White – have each already controlled over half a century of Heineken Cup matches with Welsh official Nigel Owens next in line to join the elite 50 match club.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

It will be Heineken Cup match number 46 for Owens when he travels to France for the Sunday showdown between three-time European champions Toulouse and Harlequins.

The nominated referees are drawn from the ERC 2009/10 Match Officials panel, with the nominations proposed by Donal Courtney, the ERC Match Officials Performance Manager, to the ERC Match Officials Sub Committee.

The committee is made up of Referee Managers from the six Unions of the participating teams, who review and confirm the final appointments.

The performance of match officials will be reviewed by the ERC Match Officials Performance Manager, together with a panel of Performance Reviewers (PR).

Head coaches and directors of rugby are invited to submit their comments and feedback to the ERC Match Officials Performance Manager on the performances of match officials in their games.


– All kick-offs local time


Friday, January 15

Pool 2 – Glasgow Warriors v Newport Gwent Dragons, 7.30pm, Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Sky Sports*
Pool 4 – Ulster v Edinburgh, 8pm, Christophe Berdos (France), Sky Sports

Saturday, January 16

Pool 1 – Benetton Treviso v Munster, 2.35pm, Chris White (England), Sky Italia/Sky Sports
Pool 2 – Gloucester Rugby v Biarritz Olympique, 3pm, George Clancy (Ireland), Sky Sports*
Pool 3 – Leicester Tigers v Viadana, 2pm, James Jones (Wales), Sky Sports*
Pool 3 – Clermont Auvergne v Ospreys, 4.45pm, David Pearson (England), FR2/Sky Sports/Sky Italia
Pool 4 – Stade Francais v Bath, 2.30pm, Alan Lewis (Ireland), Canal+/Sky Sports
Pool 5 – Cardiff Blues v Sale Sharks, 3.45pm, Romain Poite (France), Sky Sports
Pool 6 – Leinster v Brive, 6pm, Andrew Small (England), Sky Sports

Sunday, January 17

Pool 1 – Northampton Saints v Perpignan. 3pm, Alain Rolland (Ireland), Sky Sports
Pool 5 – Toulouse v Harlequins, 4pm, Nigel Owens (Wales), FR2/Sky Sports
Pool 6 – Scarlets v London Irish, 12.45pm, Jerome Garces (France) 


Friday, January 22

Pool 1 – Munster v Northampton Saints, 8pm, Romain Poite (France)
Pool 1 – Perpignan v Benetton Treviso, 9pm, Peter Allan (Scotland)

Saturday, January 23

Pool 3 – Viadana v Clermont Auvergne, 2.35pm, Andrew Small (England)
Pool 3 – Ospreys v Leicester Tigers, 1.35pm, Alan Lewis (Ireland)
Pool 4 – Bath v Ulster, 3.45pm, Jerome Garces (France)
Pool 4 – Edinburgh v Stade Francais, 3.45pm, Wayne Barnes (England)
Pool 6 – Brive v Scarlets, 7pm, Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)
Pool 6 – London Irish v Leinster, 6pm, Nigel Owens (Wales)

Sunday, January 24

Pool 2 – Biarritz Olympique v Glasgow Warriors, 1.45pm, David Pearson (England)
Pool 2 – Newport Gwent Dragons v Gloucester, 12.45pm, Christophe Berdos (France)
Pool 5 – Harlequins v Cardiff Blues, 3pm, George Clancy (Ireland)
Pool 5 – Sale Sharks v Toulouse, 3pm, Alain Rolland (Ireland)

Related Links –

Interested in Refereeing? Click here.