Jump to main content


Muldoon Returns For Connacht’s 2010 Opener

Muldoon Returns For Connacht’s 2010 Opener

Ireland-capped back rower John Muldoon has been named in Connacht’s 25-man squad for their second derby of the festive season – Saturday’s Magners League showdown with Leinster at the Sportsground (kick-off 4pm).

Team captain John Muldoon and top try scorer Fionn Carr are back in the Connacht squad, having sat out last weekend’s clash with Munster at Thomond Park. Young prop Jamie Hagan is also in contention to start after recovering from a finger injury.

However, full-back Gavin Duffy and prop Brett Wilkinson will be notable absentees as Connacht look to repeat their heroic win over Leinster from last season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Michael Bradley’s men put in a super-charged display to run out 19-18 winners in a memorable match at the Sportsground in October 2008.

But, unfortunately, Duffy injured his jaw in the recent 35-3 loss to Munster and Wilkinson also picked up a hand injury in that game, so the Connacht management are planning without two of their key players.

Saturday’s interprovincial encounter with Leinster will be the first of three home games for Connacht in the space of the fortnight.

The Newport Gwent Dragons will visit in the Magners League on Friday week, with Montpellier arriving for a crucial Amlin Challenge Cup clash a week later.

Connacht officials are expecting a big crowd for this weekend’s interpro. Tickets can be purchased here.

CONNACHT Squad (v Leinster) – Backs (11): Liam Bibo, Fionn Carr, Ian Keatley, Keith Matthews, Frank Murphy, Troy Nathan, Miah Nikora, Conor O’Loughlin, Niva Ta’auso, Brian Tuohy, Aidan Wynne.

Forwards (14): Andrew Browne, Sean Cronin, Adrian Flavin, Jamie Hagan, Ronan Loughney, Mike McCarthy, Mike McComish, Robbie Morris, John Muldoon, George Naoupu, Ray Ofisa, Johnny O’Connor, Michael Swift, Bernie Upton.