Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

Ireland’s Bases Confirmed For 2011 World Cup

Ireland’s Bases Confirmed For 2011 World Cup

Communities, big and small, across New Zealand have been given a chance to share in the excitement of the 2011 Rugby World Cup, following the decision to allocate hosting rights to 23 centres.

The announcement of the 23 hosting centres was made by Rugby New Zealand 2011 Ltd (RNZ 2011) CEO Martin Snedden at a function in Auckland on Friday.

The Ireland squad and management will be based in six different centres throughout the 2011 Rugby World Cup’s pool stages – Queenstown, New Plymouth, Auckland, Taupo, Rotorua and Dunedin.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Declan Kidney’s men will play the USA (New Plymouth, Sunday, September 11), Australia (Auckland, Saturday, September 17), Europe 2 qualifier (Rotorua, Sunday, September 25), and Italy (Dunedin, Sunday, October 2) in Pool C.

The following will be Ireland’s hosting centres and training venues and dates for the duration of the pool stages:

September 2-7: Queenstown, 6 nights; training at Queenstown Events Centre

September 8-11: New Plymouth, 4 nights; training at New Plymouth Boys’ High School

September 12-17: Auckland, 6 nights; training at Mt Smart #2

September 18-21: Taupo, 4 nights; training at Owen Delany Park

September 22-25: Rotorua, 4 nights; training at Smallbone Cricket Oval

September 26-October 2: Dunedin, 7 nights; Carisbrook/University Oval

Snedden said: “We as a nation are passionate about rugby so it’s fantastic that we can bring RWC 2011 to the backyards of so much of New Zealand.

“Twenty three centres – 16 in the North Island and seven in the South Island – will host at least one of the 20 participating teams.

“Today’s announcement is particularly exciting for many smaller centres which applied to host teams outside the 13 match venues already named,” he added. 

Ten additional centres have been selected:

– Bay of Islands
– Rodney
– Tauranga/Mt Maunganui
– Taupo
– Gisborne
– Wanganui
– Masterton
– Blenheim
– Ashburton
– Queenstown

Snedden continued: “We have said all along that we wanted as many communities as reasonably possible to get a first hand taste of this exciting tournament. Today’s announcement is a really important component in bringing to life New Zealand’s ‘Stadium of Four Million.’

“It’s a great opportunity for everyone. Teams will be able to experience more of New Zealand’s rich culture and spectacular scenery and these hosting communities will be able to showcase themselves, their hospitality and attractions to the world.

“Today we are also announcing that teams will use a total of 47 training grounds across the country for the duration of RWC 2011.

“This mixture of rugby club, school and public training facilities will help many communities get even closer to rugby’s showpiece tournament as well as giving teams an outstanding platform for their preparations.

“What is really fantastic is that teams and fans can experience our passion for the game in rugby’s grassroots where our traditions are strongest.

“For example, Tonga and Samoa will train at one of the oldest clubs in the country, the Ponsonby Rugby Club.

“Ponsonby boasts an honours board stacked with All Blacks such as Bryan Williams, Andy Haden, Joe Stanley and Carlos Spencer as well as first class facilities at its Western Springs ground.

“Teams will also train at several schools which have a proud tradition of rugby such as Southland Boys’ High, Christ’s College, New Plymouth Boys’ High and Rotorua Boys’ High.

“I am confident that all of the hosting communities will take advantage of this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and give teams and fans a friendly welcome, great service and a Kiwi experience they will treasure forever,” he added.

Each of the host centres will also be integrated into the RWC 2011 Festival to be wrapped around the tournament, which aims to ensure people around the country have the opportunity to take part in the 2011 Rugby World Cup experience.

RWCL Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “The Rugby World Cup is a career high for players and team management and Rugby World Cup Limited believes players should experience the tournament festival.

“The team hosting arrangements for RWC 2011 mean that all 20 teams will get to experience New Zealand’s unique rugby culture while enjoying fantastic facilities.

“I am sure that all the teams will receive wonderful support from the hosting communities.”

Related Links –

RWC 2011 Team Hosting Information Pack

RWC 2011 Team Hosting Announcement