Jump to main content


Dungannon Fall To Table Toppers ‘Belvo

Dungannon Fall To Table Toppers ‘Belvo

Flying winger David Mongan took his try-scoring tally to eight in six league games as Old Belvedere maintained their run at the top of AIB League Division 1B.

AIB LEAGUE: DIVISION 1B: Saturday, December 5


Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scorers: Old Belvedere: Tries: David Mongan 2, Leo Auva’a, Kevin Barden; Cons: Andy Dunne 4; Pens: Andy Dunne 2
Dungannon: Try: Stuart McKenzie

Former Connacht and Leinster out-half Andy Dunne was to the fore, guiding ‘Belvo to another encouraging victory at Anglesea Road.

With Dunne pulling the strings, the hosts were always in control against a Dungannon side that won here last March – 6-5.

But this was a much more open game and Phil Werahiko’s men were always in control, crossing for two tries during a lively first half.

Ten minutes in, the elusive David Mongan went over for his first of the afternoon, with Dunne adding the extras from a sweetly-struck conversion.

Bulldozing number 8 Leo Auva’a showed his pace and power to extend ‘Belvo’s lead before the break, and Dunne’s successful conversion made it 14-0.

During a tight third quarter, Dunne tagged on a penalty before Dungannon enjoyed their best spell of the game, working number 8 Stuart McKenzie over for an unconverted try.

But ‘Belvo responded with a Dunne penalty and managed to finish with a flourish, nabbing another try-scoring bonus point for their collection.

Three minutes from the end, former Ireland underage international Kevin Barden scored a try and deep into injury-time, Mongan scorched through for his second, with Dunne nailing both conversions.

OLD BELVEDERE: Conal Keane; Eddie Devitt, John Kennedy, Marcus McAllister, David Mongan; Andy Dunne (capt), Brian O’Neill; Dan Wyeth, Mark Cooney, Nermin Lovic, Paul Spivey, Alan Trenier, Jonathan Slattery, Jason Risdon, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Vinny Soden, Thomas Sexton, Dave Synnott, Kevin Barden, John Wright Harris.

DUNGANNON: John McGuckin; Craig Gilroy, Paul Magee (capt), Ethan Allen, Chris Cochrane; James Shiells, David Spence; Justin Fitzpatrick, Richard Carleton, Glen Sinneamon, Michael Rainey, Richard Holmes, Derek Hall, Ali Birch, Stuart McKenzie.

Replacements: Mark Farquhar, Rowan Halsall, Paul Heaney, Jason Bloomfield, Glen Telford.

Referee: John Lacey (IRFU)