Jump to main content


Finals Day In Women’s Interpros

Finals Day In Women’s Interpros

The IRFU Women’s Interprovincial Championship finals will take place this Sunday at Donnybrook, with Ulster and Connacht clashing in the third-fourth place play-off at 1pm and reigning champions Munster meeting their arch rivals Leinster in the final at 3pm.

Munster are gunning for their fourth successive Interpro title, having come through the group phase unbeaten.

Fiona Steed’s charges managed to ‘nil’ both Ulster and Connacht and beat Leinster, Sunday’s opponents, on a 9-6 scoreline at Crosshaven RFC.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Historically, Munster-Leinster clashes are extremely tight affairs and this weekend’s game will be no different as Leinster look to put an end to Munster’s reign.

This is the fourth year both sides have met in the Interprovincial decider and going on previous results, the Donnybrook decider will no doubt be a great occasion and highly competitive.

Admission to the finals is free and Phillips, the sponsors of the Leinster side, will be giving away a 42″ TV to one lucky supporter on the day.

Leinster coach Philip Doyle has named his starting line-up for Sunday’s final, with co-captain Tania Rosser partnering Shannon Houston at half-back in an exciting back-line which includes winger Nora Stapleton and full-back Jackie Shiels.

Place-kicker Stapleton was Leinster’s only scorer in their recent defeat to Munster, landing two penalties. The eastern province have shown good form in recent weeks, with a 33-8 win over Connacht and a 48-0 triumph away in Ulster.

Debbie Clarke starts in an experienced back row alongside fellow Irish internationals Orla Brennan and Sinead Ryan, with co-captain Fiona Coghlan leading a strong front row.

Munster coach Steed has named an extended squad of 25 as the management wait on a final decision regarding injuries. The team will be finalised on Saturday evening.

LEINSTER WOMEN: Jackie Shiels; Nora Stapleton, Amy Davis, Grace Davitt, Julie Doyle; Shannon Houston, Tania Rosser (co-captain); Fiona Coghlan (co-captain), Yvonne Nolan, Emer McManamly, Caroline Mahon, Rachel Vickers, Debbie Clarke, Sinead Ryan, Orla Brennan.

Replacements: Shirley Corcoran, Zofia Pehrson, Marie Louise Reilly, Deirdre O’Brien, Liz Comerford, Aoife Tyrell, Sinead Delaney.

MUNSTER WOMEN Squad – Backs (11): Louise Beamish, Clara Bracken, Niamh Briggs, Helen Brosnan (vice captain), Nicole Fitzgerald, Sarah Jane Cody, Gemma Crowley, Amanda Greensmith, Patrique Kelly, Mairead Kelly, Sandra Williams

Forwards (14): Louise Austin, Gillian Bourke, Orlaith Buckley, Karen Casey, Chris Fanning, Sinead Fitzpatrick, Laura Guest, Fiona Hayes, Helen Jones, Joy Neville (capt), Jo O’Meara, Kate O’Loughlin, Paula O’Connor, Kate Sheahan.

Related Links –

Women’s Interpros – Week 3

Women’s Interpros – Week 2

Women’s Interpros – Week 1