Jump to main content


Ireland ‘A’ Team To Play Jaguares

Ireland ‘A’ Team To Play Jaguares

Munster’s Mick O’Driscoll will captain the Ireland ‘A’ team against the Argentina Jaguares in the historic first ever international rugby match at Tallaght Stadium on Friday (kick-off 7.30pm). Tickets for this historic game are on sale in the O2 Store in the Square or at the gate on the night.

The selected Ireland ‘A’ side contains seven full internationals in the starting team and overall 13 players who were involved in the Churchill Cup success during the summer.

The ‘A’ team’s last outing saw them record a 48-19 win over Tonga at Ravenhill and the team to play the Jaguares has 10 changes to the starting line-up from the Tongan game.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the backs, Felix Jones is at full-back in place of Gavin Duffy and both wings have also changed with Ian Dowling replacing Shane Horgan and Johne Murphy, who was on the bench against Tonga, starting in place of Andrew Trimble.

Fergus McFadden moves to outside centre instead of Darren Cave and Keith Matthews is rewarded with a start at number 12.

Ian Humphreys has been retained at out-half and will be partnered by his Ulster colleague Isaac Boss.

John Fogarty, who was originally due to play against Tonga but remained with the senor squad as cover for Jerry Flannery, starts at hooker in place of his injured brother Denis.

There are two new second rows in Ryan Caldwell and captain Mick O’Driscoll, as Devin Toner is rotated out and Donnacha Ryan starts in the back row for this game.

He is joined there by Niall Ronan at openside, in place of Sean O’Brien, and John Muldoon will play at number 8, with Chris Henry reverting to the replacements.

Tickets for the game are still available from the O2 Store in the Square Shopping Centre in Tallaght and on the night at Tallaght Stadium. Don’t miss this chance to see some of Irish rugby’s rising stars!

IRELAND ‘A’ TEAM & REPLACEMENTS (v Argentina Jaguares, ‘A’ International, Tallaght Stadium, Friday, November 27, kick-off 7.30 pm):

15 – Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
14 – Ian Dowling (Shannon/Munster)
13 – Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
12 – Keith Matthews (Buccaneers/Connacht)
11 – Johne Murphy (Leicester Tigers)
10 – Ian Humphreys (Ballymena/Ulster)
9 – Isaac Boss (Ballymena/Ulster)
1 – Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht)
2 – John Fogarty (De La Salle Palmerston/Leinster)
3 – Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4 – Ryan Caldwell (Dungannon/Ulster)
5 – Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster) (capt)
6 – Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
7 – Niall Ronan (Shannon/Munster)
8 – John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht)


16 – Andy Kyriacou (Malone/Ulster)
17 – Bryan Young (Ballymena/Ulster)
18 – Ed O’Donoghue (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
19 – Chris Henry (Ballymena/Ulster)
20 – Frank Murphy (Buccaneers/Connacht)
21 – Ian Keatley (Galwegians/Connacht)
22 – Denis Hurley (Cork Constitution/Munster)