Jump to main content


Ireland Training Squad Announced

Ireland Training Squad Announced

A 34-man panel has been announced for the final Ireland training camp to take place in Dublin from September 14 to 15. The camp is the third and final one of three scheduled Ireland squad sessions during July, August and September.

The squad is split into 20 forwards and 14 backs, contains six uncapped players and sees Leinster duo Bernard Jackman and Eoin Reddan included for the first time this season.

There are are six uncapped players named in the squad – Leinster tyros Cian Healy, Devin Toner, Jonathan Sexton and Fergus McFadden and Connacht front rowers Brett Wilkinson and Sean Cronin.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Commenting on the training camp, Ireland coach Declan Kidney said: “The two camps that we have had have been hugely beneficial in terms of continuing the work from last season and preparing for the year ahead in what will certainly be a big challenge for the squad.

“We set out to maintain the building process of a panel based on the summer tours as well as that already knew about the players.

“The next time we meet as a squad will be November, so hopefully the players can produce good form so that the foundations laid now will benefit us at that point.”

IRELAND Squad (Training Camp, Dublin, September 2009):

Tony Buckley (Shannon/Munster)
Tom Court (Malone/Ulster)
Sean Cronin (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
Leo Cullen (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster)
Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Jerry Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
John Hayes (Bruff/Munster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)*
Jamie Heaslip (Naas/Leinster)
Marcus Horan (Shannon/Munster)
Shane Horgan (Boyne/Leinster)
Bernard Jackman (Clontarf/Leinster)
Shane Jennings (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
Robert Kearney (UCD/Leinster)
Denis Leamy (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Fergus McFadden (UCD/Leinster)*
Donncha O’Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Paul O’Connell (Young Munster/Munster)
Mick O’Driscoll (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Brian O’Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)
Ronan O’Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Tomas O’Leary (Dolphin/Munster)
Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)*
Peter Stringer (Shannon/Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)*
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)
David Wallace (Garryowen/Munster)
Paddy Wallace (Ballymena/Ulster)
Brett Wilkinson (Galwegians/Connacht)*

* Denotes uncapped