Jump to main content


Dungannon Start Season With Sevens Win

Dungannon Start Season With Sevens Win

AIB League Division 1B side Dungannon got their season off to a winning start by picking up some silverware at the 35th Annual Ophir Sevens tournament last weekend.

The Ophir Sevens Tournament has been held annually since 1974 and attracts 12 clubs all competing for the Will Totten Memorial trophy over the course of the afternoon, it is the starting event for the new season.
Dungannon emerged as winners of Section 1 having gone through unbeaten, scoring 24 tries through Chris Henderson (4), Reihana Souter-Finch (4), Mark Riddell (3), Colm Heaney (3), Ray Maguire, Tim Potter, Simon Potter and Philip Steenson (2 each), Paul Heaney and Mark McFarland (1 each).

Sixteen of these tries were converted, ‘Gannon only conceded four tries, two of which were converted. UUC were runners-up in Section 1.
Last year’s winners Instonians were the runners-up in Section 2 and Queen’s University topped the section.
Dungannon played Instonians in their semi-final which they convincingly won 33-7, with two converted tries each from Chris Henderson and Colm Heaney and one unconverted try from Ray Maguire.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Queen’s defeated UUC in their semi-final match.
Dungannon played Queen’s in the final which again they won convincingly 31-12, thanks to converted tries from Chris Henderson, Mark Riddell and Ray Maguire and two unconverted tries from Paul Heaney and Mark Riddell.

Colm Heaney received the man-of-the-match award from the Mayor of Newtownabbey.
Dungannon team sponsor, Terry Jackson of Kukri Sportswear, said that he was pleased to see the side perform so efficiently at the start of a season and hopes it transpires into the 15-a-side game.
Dungannon Sevens Squad – 

1. Mark Riddell
2. Colm Heaney
3. Paul Heaney
4. Tim Potter
5. Reihana Sutor-Finch
6. Chris Henderson (capt)
7. Ray Maguire
8. Mark McFarland
9. Stephen Steenson
10. Simon Potter

Related Links –

Dungannon Rugby Club