Jump to main content


Ireland at the 2019 Rugby World Cup

England And Japan Announced As World Cup Hosts

England And Japan Announced As World Cup Hosts

The International Rugby Board Council has awarded Rugby World Cup 2015 to England and Rugby World Cup 2019 to Japan. The decision, which was approved by a vote of 16 to 10 in Dublin today, ratifies Rugby World Cup Limited’s recommendation announced last month.

IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset made the announcement at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin and congratulated all four bidding Unions.

“All the tenders were of a very high standard and each Union demonstrated that they could host an excellent Rugby World Cup,” he said.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“It is a tribute to the health of the game and the enormous prestige of RWC that the competing bids were so strong.

“Both Italy and South Africa submitted extensive and compelling tenders. I would like to thank them on behalf of the IRB Council for the quality of their work and their dedication to the process.

“The Tender Analysis Report and the RWCL Board’s recommendation were carefully studied by the IRB Council and their assessment concluded that the selection of England and Japan would provide the best combination of host Unions to drive the ongoing development of the game worldwide.

“We believe that the succession of England and Japan as host nations for RWC will create new opportunities and help maximise commercial revenues for re-investment in the game.

“It is an exciting combination for Rugby World Cup and one which we think will enable the sport to reach developing rugby markets and therefore contribute to the continued growth of the game and its values worldwide,” added Lapasset.

“The commercial success of RWC is an important element in the progression of our game and means that developing rugby markets be considered for the tournament to both reflect and assist the game’s strategic vision and evolution.

“We are confident that England will deliver a spectacular tournament in 2015 and that Japan, as the first Rugby World Cup host nation in Asia, will mark the beginning of a very exciting chapter in the history of this great tournament.

“I would like to congratulate both Unions on their selection and the IRB looks forward to working with them on what promise to be two very special Rugby World Cup tournaments,” he concluded.

The announcement of the RWC 2015 and RWC 2019 Host Unions is the culmination of an extensive tender process that kicked off in August 2008.

It is also the first time that two tournaments have been awarded at the same time.

As the world’s third-largest sporting event, Rugby World Cup is the driving force behind the global development of rugby worldwide.

The tournament’s commercial success provides the IRB with the platform to invest up to £150 million between 2009 and 2012 across all 116 Member Unions in the form of annual Union grants and the Strategic Investment Programme that is designed to increase the competitiveness of the Game.

Tender Process Time Line –

August 15, 2008 – Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales formally confirm their interest in hosting Rugby World Cup 2015, while Australia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales submit an expression of interest in tendering for the 2019 tournament. Jamaica later withdraws.

September 30, 2008 – Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales confirm their intention to tender for Rugby World Cup 2015, while Australia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales formally confirm their commitment to host the 2019 tournament. Russia later withdraws.

October – May 2008 – RWCL visits to Tender Unions

May 8, 2009 – England, Italy, Japan and South Africa submit tender responses, while Australia, Ireland, Scotland, Wales confirm that they will not tender. The confirmation of four tender Unions is a record for a RWC.

May 13, 2009 – England, Italy, Japan and South Africa present to IRB Council

May – June, 2009 – RWCL review of tenders

June 30, 2009 – RWCL Board Recommends England as Host Union of RWC 2015 and Japan as Host Union of RWC 2019
July 28, 2009 – IRB Council selects England as RWC 2015 and Japan as RWC 2019 Host Unions

Rugby World Cup Background –

Rugby World Cup 2007 in France was the most successful Rugby World Cup ever. The tournament was broadcast to a global television audience of over 4 billion and generated a record net surplus of £122.4 million.

RWC 2007 enjoyed 2.2 million public ticket sales with an attendance rate of 97% for the matches in France, a full corporate sponsorship inventory and unprecedented corporate hospitality sales with over 100,000 packages sold (greater than the last two tournaments combined).

An independent Deloitte report identified the total economic benefits for the host nation as being up to £2.1 billion.

Other major attractions of hosting the tournament include promotion of the country, a rugby and sports legacy and a feel good factor.