Jump to main content


D’Arcy Set For Barbarians Debut

D’Arcy Set For Barbarians Debut

Leinster and Ireland centre Gordon D’Arcy has been named in the Barbarians team for Saturday’s friendly encounter with England at Twickenham (kick-off 4.15pm). D’Arcy is one of five Irish-based players included in the Baa Baas’ matchday squad.

Gordon D’Arcy and his Leinster Heineken Cup-winning team-mates Rocky Elsom and Chris Whitaker are bound for Twickenham this weekend as they line out for the Barbarians against Martin Johnson’s England side.

Captained by Martin Corry in the last game of his professional career, the Barbarians will boast 632 Test caps-worth of international experience when they take to the Twickenham pitch.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Corry’s 2003 Rugby World Cup-winning colleague Josh Lewsey will be playing his last match on English soil, partnering D’Arcy in the Baa Baas’ midfield.

Munster winger Doug Howlett and Ulster prop BJ Botha, two more Barbarians newcomers, will also play a part in a game which is being televised live on Sky Sports 1. Howlett is one of seven All Blacks included.

The Barbarians, coached by Cardiff Blues’ Dai Young, will go on play Australia in Sydney on Saturday, June 6.

Tickets for the England v Barbarians match are available now from www.ticketmaster.co.uk and are priced from STG£25 for adults and STG£10 for Under-16s.

Ticket holders can watch two other games being played at Twickenham on the day, the Bill Beaumont Cup final (12pm) and the County Championship Shield final (10am).

Supporters coming to game can also watch the first game of the 2009 British & Irish Lions tour against the Royal XV. The match kicks off at 2pm and will be shown on the two giant screens within the seating bowl.

BARBARIANS (v England): Ben Blair (Cardiff Blues & New Zealand); *Doug Howlett (Munster & New Zealand), *Josh Lewsey (London Wasps & England), *Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster & Ireland), Iain Balshaw (Gloucester & England);  Glen Jackson (Saracens), Justin Marshall (Saracens & New Zealand); *Clarke Dermody (London Irish & New Zealand), Schalk Brits (Stormers & South Africa), *Greg Somerville (Gloucester & New Zealand), Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers & England) (capt), Chris Jack (Saracens & New Zealand), Jerry Collins (Toulon & New Zealand), *Serge Betsen (London Wasps & France), Rocky Elsom (Leinster & Australia).

Replacements: Sebastien Bruno (Sale Sharks & France), *BJ Botha (Ulster & South Africa), *Paul Tito (Cardiff Blues), Phil Waugh (Waratahs & Australia), *Chris Whitaker (Leinster & Australia), *Mike Catt (London Irish & England), *Ratu Nasiganiyavi (Waratahs).

* denotes new Barbarian