Jump to main content


Ferris Back For Ulster

Ferris Back For Ulster

Ulster coach Matt Williams has named his team and replacements to take on Glasgow Warriors this Friday evening at Firhill Arena.

Ireland flanker Stephen Ferris returns to the Ulster starting line-up for his first game since picking up a hand injury in Ireland’s Grand Slam-clinching game against Wales.

With the return of Ferris at blindside flanker, Chris Henry is relegated to the replacements bench. Italian lock Carlo Del Fava replaces an injured Ed O’Donoghue in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ian Whitten replaces Darren Cave in the centre, with Cave starting on the bench, and Paul Marshall starts at scrum half ahead of Isaac Boss.

Ian Humphreys returns squad this week, gaining a bench role as Niall O’Connor once again starts at number 10.

Talking about his return to the Ulster side, Ferris said: “No one likes to be injured and it is always hard sitting in the stand watching, because you think, ‘if I was out there maybe I could offer something.’

“Again, it is easy to do that when you are sitting watching.

“The side have gone a bit flat. We have had a row of bad performances and it is important now that we improve on that.

“I am feeling fresh and I am keen to bring a bit of energy and enthusiasm into the side, and hopefully everyone else involved will as well, so we can at least have a decent run towards the end of the season.

“We certainly will be targeting wins in all four remaining games.

“I’m just glad to be involved, and hopefully I will be able to make a big contribution to the end of the season for the side.”

The following players were not considered due to injury: Justin Fitzpatrick, Ed O’Donoghue, Thomas Anderson, Cillian Willis, Bryn Cunningham, Tom Court, Mark McCrea, Kieron Dawson, Paul Steinmetz, Chris Cochrane and Declan Fitzpatrick.

ULSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Clinton Schifcofske; Simon Danielli, Ian Whitten, Paddy Wallace, Andrew Trimble; Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall; Bryan Young, Rory Best (capt), BJ Botha, Carlo Del Fava, Ryan Caldwell, Stephen Ferris, David Pollock, Robbie Diack.

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Daniel Roach, Matt McCullough, Chris Henry, Isaac Boss, Daren Cave, Ian Humphreys.