Jump to main content


Heaslip Launches Bord Gais Energy IRUPA Player Awards

Heaslip Launches Bord Gais Energy IRUPA Player Awards

The Irish Rugby Union Players Association have announced that Bord Gáis Energy will be the title sponsor of IRUPA’s Rugby Players Awards for 2009 and 2010.

This year’s IRUPA Awards ceremony takes place in Dublin’s Burlington Hotel on Wednesday, May 6 and will honour those players who have made the 2008/2009 season one of the most exciting in Irish rugby history with the Triple Crown, Championship and Grand Slam successes.

Speaking at the official launch of this year’s awards, Jamie Heaslip, a member of the 2009 Grand Slam-winning team, said: “On behalf of all IRUPA members, I would like to thank Bord Gáis Energy for their crucial support of IRUPA and their commitment to professional rugby players in Ireland.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

“Securing a sponsor of their stature is an endorsement of the standing the awards has in rugby and the vital work IRUPA does for the players.”

Six awards will be presented including the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Players’ Player of the Year, which is the top award for the player who has excelled above all others in provincial and/or international matches.

Also speaking at the launch, David Bunworth, MD, Bord Gáis Energy, said: “Bord Gais Energy salutes the successes of Irish rugby in the last number of years and we are delighted to be associated with recognising our players achievements.

“It is fantastic to have such a strong line-up of nominees, those voting have some extremely difficult decisions to make.” 

Niall Woods, CEO of IRUPA, added: “The support of Bord Gáis Energy will further assist IRUPA in providing players with the necessary off field services and advice they need to maximise their careers both on the field and to guide them with their future choices off the field. Our partnership with Bord Gáis Energy certainly does that.”

All of IRUPA’s members will be casting their votes for the award categories over the coming weeks and this is what makes these awards so unique.