Jump to main content


Four Changes For Connacht

Four Changes For Connacht

Connacht have made four changes to their side ahead of the visit of the Newport Gwent Dragons at the Sportsground on Friday (kick-off 6.30pm).

Both Niva Ta’auso and Frank Murphy have overcome their respective hamstring and calf injuries to start for Connacht in the back-line against the Dragons.

Meanwhile, up front, Ronan Loughney comes in at tighthead prop and Ireland international Johnny O’Connor returns to the starting line up at openside.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Former Ireland squad member Gavin Duffy moves from outside centre to full-back, making way for Ta’auso’s inclusion.

Andrew Browne has moved to his more familiar position in the second row, with Ray Ofisa starting for Connacht for the first time at number eight.

Kieran Campbell (hip), Tim Donnelly (knee), John Hearty (hip), Michael McCarthy (foot) and Robbie Morris (foot) were not considered due to their respective injuries.

CONNACHT (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Gavin Duffy; Fionn Carr, Niva Ta’auso, Keith Matthews, Liam Bibo; Ian Keatley, Frank Murphy; Brett Wilkinson, Sean Cronin, Ronan Loughney, Andrew Browne, Andrew Farley, John Muldoon (capt), Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Brian McGovern, Michael Swift, Colm Rigney, Conor O’Loughlin, Andy Dunne, Troy Nathan.