Jump to main content


Leinster Boosted By Return Of Grand Slam Players

Leinster Boosted By Return Of Grand Slam Players

The Leinster squad to face Munster in Saturday night’s Magners League top of the table showdown at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Leinster have added the Grand Slam-winning quartet of Brian O’Driscoll, Luke Fitzgerald, Jamie Heaslip and Rob Kearney to the panel that achieved a bonus point victory over Ulster in the RDS.

Fergus McFadden, Rocky Elsom, team captain Leo Cullen and Simon Keogh – all try scorers last Sunday – are in contention for selection alongside Trevor Hogan, who made his 50th Leinster appearance as a replacement in the 32-6 win.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking ahead of this weekend’s game, Leinster coach Michael Cheika said: “It’s going to be a tough game down there, we understand how difficult it will be. We’re very hurt from the match up here (at the RDS in September) when we got beat 18-0.

“We’ll just prepare ourselves accordingly so that we aware of what’s needed if we’re going to have a chance against the European champions in their own back yard.

“Every game is different in this, what would you call it, love story between us and them.

“We’ve got a lot of respect for them as a team and their players. It’s going to be a really good game down there.

“If we get our mentality and get our preparation right, then we’re going to be in with a shout.

“If we don’t get our mentality right, then we better look out, because they’re a good team. You saw that again (against Glasgow) on Friday night.”

In excess of 5,500 Leinster supporters are expected to make the trip to Limerick for Saturday’s interprovincial derby.

LEINSTER Squad (v Munster): Backs (14) – Chris Keane, Paul O’Donohoe, Chris Whitaker, Felipe Contepomi, Jonathan Sexton, Luke Fitzgerald, Simon Keogh, Isa Nacewa, Gordon D’Arcy, Fergus McFadden, Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Horgan, Girvan Dempsey, Rob Kearney.

Forwards (15) – Cian Healy, Ronan McCormack, John Fogarty, Bernard Jackman, CJ Van Der Linde, Stan Wright, Leo Cullen, Trevor Hogan, Malcolm O’Kelly, Rocky Elsom, Cameron Jowitt, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip, Stephen Keogh.